Illnesses and symptoms

How do I find a paediatrician?

TIPS
|
Source: iStock / SeventyFour

Children experience health issues differently to adults. For this reason, a paediatrician must have the specific skills required to deal with children.

How do I find a paediatrician?

Some regions of Switzerland are experiencing a shortage of paediatricians. It’s therefore a good idea to start looking for a paediatrician before the last trimester of pregnancy. Your birth hospital can help you with your search. Your family doctor, gynaecologist or midwife may also be able to make some recommendations. Alternatively, you can use the Comparis medical directory to search for paediatricians that are still accepting patients.

Look for a paediatrician with the specialist medical title “child and adolescent medicine” and appropriate history of continuing education. Assistant physicians in their final year of study are also a good option. Ideally, the paediatrician’s practice should be easily accessible by public transport or car. If you can't find a paediatrician near where you live, you may need to extend your search to the next biggest town or the area where you work.

What makes a good paediatrician?

It's not enough just to have a nice, child-friendly waiting room. A good paediatrician has excellent empathy skills. This includes an age-appropriate communication style, sensitivity and a good way with children. The level of trust between a child and their paediatrician affects the behaviour of the child and the success of treatment and therapies.

A good paediatrician:

  • takes time and pays attention to the child
  • is patient and inspires trust
  • answers questions from parents and children knowledgeably and thoroughly
  • talks to the parent or accompanying adult, but to the child as well
  • takes the concerns and fears of the child seriously
  • explains things in a precise, age-appropriate and easy-to-understand way
  • understands the child's personality and adapts their approach accordingly
  • if in doubt, refers your child to a hospital or specialist

How should a paediatric practice be organized?

  • If your child needs to be seen urgently, the practice will give you the earliest possible appointment.
  • Waiting times are short so that your child does not become nervous in the waiting room.
  • The practice facilities are child-friendly.
  • Contact persons are available outside opening hours.
  • You have no trouble contacting the practice by telephone.
  • The practice team is friendly and helpful.

My child is afraid of injections

Injections are a source of stress for many children. The way the paediatrician uses eye and physical contact plays an important part here. The presence of a parent, distractions, child-appropriate explanations and a local anaesthetic can also help reduce fear.

What you can do to minimize fear surrounding injections

  • The doctor should be calm and matter-of-fact, the environment quiet and functional.
  • Parents can use soothing words and physical closeness to reduce their child's fear.
  • Explain to the child that vaccinations protect against disease.
  • Be honest with your child – don’t make false or misleading statements (e.g. “It’s not that bad”).
  • Afternoon appointments are a good time for vaccinations as children sleep more easily afterwards.

What is the difference between a paediatrician and a child and adolescent psychiatrist?

Although paediatricians are not trained to treat mental-health conditions, they often diagnose them. They then refer such patients to a specialist such as a child and adolescent psychiatrist.

Child and adolescent psychiatrists in Switzerland

What is the role of a school doctor?

School doctors do not replace paediatricians but help with preventive check-ups in the interests of protecting both pupils and schools in general. School medical services are organized at cantonal level. Their main purpose is to test sight and hearing and check weight and vaccination status. Sometimes questionnaires are used to screen for other health issues. Some cantons also offer educational psychology services.

Who else can I consult with regard to my child’s health?

Depending on your family’s circumstances and the age of your child, there are other organizations and professionals who can offer help. It's often worth calling the relevant Telmed provider before visiting a doctor. In the case of family or mental health issues, you can also obtain information from Pro Juventute, helplines like elternnotruf.ch and KiSpiPhone (children’s hospital), and advisory services such as fuerdaskind.ch and the Swiss parent advisory association (Mütter- und Väterberatung).

Paediatricians in Switzerland

Accounting for 5% of all doctors, paediatrics – or child and adolescent medicine – is one of the largest medical disciplines in Switzerland. Women account for 63% of paediatricians. There is roughly one paediatrician per 1,000 inhabitants (source: Swiss Medical Association (FMH)).

Paediatricians in Switzerland

Maladies et symptômes

Comment trouver un pédiatre ?

CONSEILS
|
Photo : iStock / SeventyFour

Les enfants réagissent différemment aux problèmes de santé que les adultes. Raison pour laquelle un pédiatre doit détenir les compétences requises pour le contact avec des enfants.

Comment trouver un pédiatre ?

En Suisse, plusieurs régions connaissent une pénurie de pédiatres. Raison pour laquelle il est recommandé de commencer à chercher un pédiatre avant le dernier trimestre de la grossesse. L’hôpital choisi pour la naissance de votre enfant peut vous être utile. Vous pouvez également demander conseil au médecin de famille, à votre gynécologue ou à votre sage-femme pour vous orienter dans votre recherche. Le registre des médecins Comparis peut également vous aider à trouver des pédiatres qui acceptent de nouveaux patients.

Trouvez un pédiatre doté du titre de spécialiste en « pédiatrie » et des formations continues requises. Les médecins assistants en dernière année de formation sont également une bonne option. On privilégie généralement un pédiatre facilement accessible en transports en commun ou en voiture. Si vous ne trouvez pas de pédiatre près de chez vous, vous devrez sans doute étendre votre recherche à la prochaine grande ville ou bien à votre lieu de travail.

Qu’est-ce qu’un bon pédiatre ?

Une salle d’attente adaptée aux enfants ne suffit pas. Un bon pédiatre détient aussi une bonne dose d’empathie, notamment un style de communication adapté à l’âge, de la sensibilité et un bon contact avec l’enfant. Car le rapport de confiance entre l’enfant et le médecin influe sur le comportement de l’enfant et sur la réussite des thérapies et traitements.

Un bon pédiatre...

  • accorde du temps, est à l’écoute de l’enfant ;
  • fait preuve de patience et inspire confiance ;
  • répond aux questions des parents et des enfants de manière détaillée et compétente ;
  • s’adresse aux parents ou à l’accompagnant mais aussi à l’enfant ;
  • prend au sérieux les problèmes et les peurs de l’enfant ;
  • explique la situation en tenant compte de l’âge, de manière claire et précise ;
  • reconnaît le mode de fonctionnement de l’enfant et adapte son approche en conséquence ;
  • dirige votre enfant vers l’hôpital ou un spécialiste, en cas de doute.

Comment un cabinet de pédiatrie devrait-il être organisé ?

  • En cas d’urgence, vous obtenez un rendez-vous rapidement.
  • L’attente est courte afin que votre enfant ne devienne pas nerveux dans la salle d’attente.
  • Le cabinet est adapté aux enfants.
  • Des interlocuteurs sont à votre disposition hors des horaires d’ouverture
  • Le cabinet est facilement joignable par téléphone.
  • L’équipe du cabinet est sympathique et serviable.

Mon enfant a peur des piqûres

Beaucoup d’enfants sont stressés face à une seringue. Dans ce cas, le contact physique et visuel du pédiatre jouent un rôle important. Par ailleurs, la présence des parents, les manœuvres de distraction, l’explication adaptée à l’enfant et l’anesthésie locale peuvent atténuer la peur.

Mesures pour atténuer la peur des piqûres

  • Le médecin et l’environnement doivent rester objectifs et calmes.
  • Les parents peuvent aussi atténuer la peur de l’enfant par la parole et la proximité physique.
  • Il est conseillé d’expliquer à l’enfant que le vaccin est fait pour protéger d’une maladie.
  • Ne pas faire de déclarations faussant/cachant la vérité (p. ex. « ce n’est pas si grave »).
  • Les rendez-vous en après-midi se prêtent bien aux vaccins car les enfants dorment mieux après.

Quelle est la différence entre un pédiatre et un psychiatre pour enfants et adolescents ?

Le traitement de troubles psychiques n’entre pas dans les compétences d’un pédiatre. En revanche, les pédiatres diagnostiquent souvent les troubles psychiques. Dans ce cas, les médecins dirigent leurs patients à des spécialistes comme des psychiatres de l’enfant et de l’adolescent.

Psychiatres enfants et adolescents Suisse

Quelle est le rôle des médecins scolaires ?

Les médecins scolaires ne remplacent pas les pédiatres mais complètent les examens de prévention afin de protéger les écoliers et la communauté à l’école. La médecine scolaire est réglée au niveau des cantons. En médecine scolaire, l’attention se porte principalement sur l’examen du système de la vue et de l’audition, le contrôle des vaccins et du poids. Au moyen de questionnaires, d’autres facteurs de santé peuvent également être contrôlés. Certains cantons proposent également des services de psychologie scolaire.

Quels sont les autres interlocuteurs pour la santé des enfants ?

Outre le pédiatre, d’autres interlocuteurs existent, selon la situation familiale ou l’âge de l’enfant. Souvent, il est utile d’appeler le centre de télémédecine Telmed avant de consulter un médecin. En cas de problèmes psychiques ou familiaux, vous pouvez également obtenir des renseignements auprès de Pro Juventute ou de centres d'information et de conseil (p. ex. le conseil téléphonique « elternnotruf.ch », les urgences pédiatriques « KISpiPhone » ou les consultations destinées aux parents).

Pédiatres en Suisse

La pédiatrie, qui représente 5 % du corps médical, fait partie des grandes disciplines médicales. 63 % des pédiatres sont des femmes. On compte un pédiatre pour 1000 habitants environ (source : FMH)

Pédiatres en Suisse