Welcome to Switzerland

Taxation at source – large differences between the cantons

INFORMATION
|
Foreign employees without a residence permit C have to pay taxation at source in Switzerland. You are only exempt if your spouse or civil partner either is Swiss or holds the residence permit C. You are also subject to taxation at source if your place of residence is abroad and you only earn your income in Switzerland – even if it is for a short time. .

You have to pay tax on your gross income. There are four different rates: A for single persons, B for married sole wage earners, C for married double earners who are full-time employed in Switzerland and D for income from sideline income as well as compensatory income.

The tax rates vary depending on the canton. Therefore it is worthwhile to compare them. For example, a single person of catholic faith living in Zurich without children, earning CHF 6,000 from a full-time job pays CHF 469 for taxation at source. In the canton of Thurgau, the same person would have to pay CHF 793.

Taxation at source can be easily calculated with the Taxation at source calculator by Comparis.

Find further information on the Internet page of the Swiss Federal Tax Administration FTA .

Bienvenue en Suisse

Retenue à la source - Gros écarts entre les cantons

INFO
|
Les salariés étrangers, résidant en Suisse et n'ayant pas le permis C, paient leurs impôts à la source, sauf ceux dont le conjoint ou le partenaire enregistré est suisse ou a le permis C. Les personnes domiciliées à l'étranger et touchant des revenus en Suisse, même sur une courte période, sont également assujetties à la retenue à la source.

L'impôt est calculé sur les revenus bruts. Il existe quatre barèmes de calcul : "A" pour les personnes vivant seules, "B" pour les couples mariés mais dont seul un a des revenus, "C" pour les couples mariés dont les deux personnes ont des revenus et exercent leur activité professionnelle en Suisse, et "D" pour les revenus d'activités accessoires ainsi que pour les revenus de remplacement.

Les taux d'imposition variant en fonction des barèmes et des cantons, il vaut la peine de les comparer. Ainsi, par exemple, une personne célibataire et sans enfant, de confession catholique, paiera à Zurich 469 francs de retenue à la source pour un revenu mensuel brut de 6 000 francs. Dans le canton de Thurgovie, la même personne paierait 793 francs.

Il est possible de caculer le montant de sa retenue à la source avec le calculateur de retenue à la source de Comparis.

Pour de plus amples informations, se reporter au site de l'Administration fédérale des contributions AFC.