Car financing


 

Financing your car

Paying for your car in cash is definitely the cheapest option. However, there are times when you may need additional funds to make the purchase. In this case, you need to know which makes the most financial sense – a lease or a loan?

At first glance, leasing may appear the more favourable option. But bear in mind that there is more to leasing than just the annual interest charges. You need to consider that factors such as ownership, insurance costs, mileage, taxes and contract duration also affect the total cost of a vehicle over its entire useful life.

 

Personal loan comparison

Calculate the costs for your personal loan – and compare.

Car leasing comparison

Calculate your monthly leasing rate here.
 


 

Example: Lease vs. loan

  Lease 4.9% Loan 7.9%
Purchase price of car 30,000 30,000
Residual value 12,000  
Financing amount 18,000  
Duration in months 48 48
Interest rate 4.90% 7.90%
     
Monthly cost 458.90 727.15
Total cost of instalments 22,027 34,903
Total cost including acquisition of car 34,027 34,903
     
Difference in financing   876
Difference in insurance   -804
Total difference (savings compared to lease)   72

Assumptions / explanations

According to analyses by comparis.ch, full casco insurance for a leased car costs on average 200 francs more per year than that for a non-leased car. The costs of a lease at 4.9 percent roughly correspond to those of a loan at 7.9%.

 

How much does a car lease really cost?

Many people do not realise how expensive leasing really is when they sign a lease contract. Even a personal loan is often cheaper and has the additional advantage of the car being yours right from the start.

 

Hidden costs of a car lease


  • Car insurance: As lessee, you are obliged to buy expensive full casco insurance. Even after a few years, you may not switch to partial casco insurance, which is cheaper. What’s more, full casco is even more expensive for leased vehicles than it is for vehicles paid for in cash.
  • Tax: For private individuals, loan interest is tax-deductible, whereas interest payments for a lease are not. For self-employed persons, a lease may be more convenient because it can be accounted for via the company and thus deducted from the profit.
  • Service Under a lease, you may be contractually obliged to have your car serviced in authorised repair shops only, which are expensive. You may also incur considerable additional costs when returning the car after the lease has expired. Why? As the garage has to buy the vehicle from the leasing company at the residual value, it is in their interest to bill as many complaints as possible to the customer.
  • Excess mileage: The lease contract stipulates a maximum number of kilometres that may be driven per year. If you exceed your allowance, those additional kilometres could cost you dearly.
  • Ownership: You are not the owner of the car while you lease it. You may not sell the car nor lend it to third parties without restriction. If there is no purchase option in your lease contract, you have no claim to the car even after the lease has expired. In this case, the garage buys the car at the residual value. This price is usually less than the market value because the car depreciated in value as you used it. At the end of the day, the garage makes a profit at your expense. If you finance a car with a loan, on the other hand, you can sell it any time at its market value – and if you can get more for it than the residual amount of your loan, you can reap the benefits yourself.
  • Financing trap: Should your income or personal situation suddenly change and you are unable to continue the lease, you can expect to pay a high price for early termination. So instead of being able to resolve money worries by selling your car, you may run into even greater financial trouble.

 

The 6 great advantages of a car loan at a glance 

  • The car is yours right from the start. This means that you may use the car in any way you like.
  • If you suddenly find yourself in financial difficulties, you are free to sell the car and terminate the personal loan.
  • You do not have to rely on a specific repair shop, but are free to choose the cheapest provider.
  • It is you who decides which parts should be repaired, not the leasing company.
  • After two to three years, you can switch to cheaper partial casco insurance or you may even choose to get partial casco from the beginning.
  • In your tax declaration, you can deduct the loan as debt from your property and the interest paid from your income. If you lease a car, you cannot make any deductions.

Financement automobile


 

Financer votre voiture

Le moins cher est bien sûr de payer une voiture au comptant. Mais, selon la situation, l'achat d'un véhicule nécessite un financement supplémentaire. Qu'est-ce qui est alors plus avantageux : un leasing ou un crédit automobile ?

À première vue, le leasing semble être la solution la moins chère. Mais attention : il n'y a pas que les intérêts annuels. En effet, le coût global du véhicule au cours de sa durée d'utilisation dépend encore d'autres facteurs : propriété, frais d'assurance, kilométrage, aspects fiscaux et durée du crédit.

 

Comparateur de crédit privé

Calculez à combien s'élèverait votre crédit – et comparez

Calculateur de leasing automobile

Calculez les mensualités que vous auriez à payer.
 


 

Exemple : leasing vs. crédit

  Leasing 4,9 % Crédit 7,9 %
Prix d'achat 30 000 30 000
Valeur résiduelle 12 000  
Montant du financement 18 000  
Durée (en mois) 48 48
Taux d'intérêt 4,90% 7,90%
     
Charge mensuelle 458,90 727,15
Total des mensualités 22 027 34 903
Total avec reprise du véhicule 34 027 34 903
     
Différence financement   876
Différence assurance   -804
Total différence (économie par rapport au leasing)   72

Suppositions / explications

Selon les analyses de comparis.ch, une assurance casco complète est en moyenne 200 francs plus chère pour un véhicule pris en leasing que pour un autre véhicule. En termes de coûts, un leasing à 4,9 % correspond environ à un crédit privé de 7,9 %.

 

Quel est le coût réel d'un leasing automobile ?

En signant un contrat de leasing, beaucoup n'ont pas conscience du coût réel de celui-ci. Souvent, même un crédit privé est moins cher, avec cet autre avantage que, dès le début, la voiture vous appartient.

 

Les coûts cachés du leasing automobile :


  • Assurance automobile : en tant que preneur de leasing, vous êtes contraint de souscrire une assurance casco complète onéreuse. Et vous ne pourrez pas passer à une assurance casco partielle moins chère même des années plus tard. Sans compter que la casco complète pour véhicules pris en leasing est encore plus chère que pour les véhicules payés comptant.
  • Impôts : en tant que particulier, vous pouvez déduire les intérêts d'un crédit mais pas d'un leasing. Néanmoins, le leasing peut être plus judicieux pour les indépendants, car le leasing est alors comptabilisé via l'entreprise et peut donc être déduit du bénéfice.
  • Garage : la société de leasing peut vous imposer dans le contrat d'effectuer l'entretien exclusivement auprès de garages de marque chers. Cela peut revenir une nouvelle fois plus cher lors de la reprise du véhicule à l'échéance du leasing, tout particulièrement. Pourquoi ? Le garagiste devant racheter la voiture à la société de leasing à la valeur résiduelle, il est dans son intérêt de facturer au client un maximum de points de réclamation.
  • Dépassement du kilométrage : le contrat de leasing fixe un kilométrage maximum par an. Si vous deviez parcourir davantage de kilomètres, vous devrez payer cher le dépassement.
  • Propriété : durant le leasing, le véhicule ne vous appartient pas. De plus, vous ne pouvez ni le vendre ni le prêter à des tiers pour une durée illimitée. Si le contrat de leasing ne prévoit pas d'option d'achat, vous n'aurez pas droit au véhicule, même à l'échéance du contrat. Dans ce cas, le garagiste rachète la voiture à la valeur résiduelle. Cette valeur se situe souvent en-dessous de la valeur du marché, car en tant que client, vous l'avez déjà amortie. À la fin du calcul, le garagiste atteint un bénéfice à votre charge. Par contre, lorsque vous achetez la voiture au moyen d'un crédit, vous pouvez la revendre à tout moment à la valeur du marché – et en profiter si celle-ci est plus élevée que les créances à recouvrir.
  • Piège de financement : si vos conditions de revenu ou de vie changent à court terme et que vous ne pouvez plus financer le leasing, une résiliation anticipée vous coûtera très cher. Et au lieu de surmonter des difficultés financières grâce à la vente du véhicule, votre situation s'aggrave.

 

Les 6 avantages majeurs d'un crédit automobile en un coup d'œil 

  • Dès le début, la voiture vous appartient. En d'autres termes : vous pouvez faire du véhicule ce que bon vous semble.
  • Et en cas de soucis financiers, vous êtes libre de vendre le véhicule ou de résilier le crédit à la consommation.
  • Vous n'êtes pas lié à un garagiste particulier et pouvez donc choisir le prestataire le moins cher.
  • De plus, vous décidez vous-même des pièces à réparer, et non la société de leasing.
  • Après deux ou trois ans, vous pouvez passer à une casco partielle moins chère, si cela n'a pas été votre choix dès le départ.
  • Sur votre déclaration d'impôts, vous pouvez déduire le crédit comme dettes de votre patrimoine, d'une part et les intérêts de votre revenu, d'autre part. Avec un véhicule pris en leasing, aucune déduction n'est possible.