How to cancel your insurance and get a new policy without any problems

Cancellation deadlines, correct cancellation letters, taking out new insurance


We show you how you can easily cancel your current insurance policy and switch to a different company in just four steps. This article contains a wealth of information, tips and templates on the subject of cancelling various insurance policies in Switzerland. Once you have read it, you will know your rights and be familiar with the various deadlines. What is more, you can create all templates for cancellation letters directly online and download them free of charge.


Below is an overview of the Comparis pages that provide information on the respective rights, deadlines and formal requirements as well as useful templates for download:

 


 

Rights and deadlines
Every insurance policy has its own cancellation rights and deadlines, which you must comply with when terminating the policy unilaterally. Health insurance, for example, can be cancelled as of the end of a year subject to either a one-month or a three-month notice period, depending on whether it is a basic or a supplementary insurance policy. By contrast, most property insurance contracts can only be terminated with effect from their expiry date. The precise arrangements depend on the policy and the provider. To find out the exact cancellation deadline, you should therefore consult the general conditions of insurance.

Cancellations of insurance policies as described above are known as ordinary cancellations. In some situations, there are also extraordinary reasons for terminating insurance policies. These include, for example, a general premium increase by the health insurer. Covered car insurance claims also give the policyholder the right to terminate the policy. An overview of the extraordinary reasons for cancellation can be found under the above links to the various types of insurance.

Form of cancellation and how to send it
You should pay particular attention to form when cancelling an insurance policy. It is essential to adhere to the following rules: All cancellations must use something known as “qualified written form” (qualifizierte Schriftlichkeit). This means that you must compose the cancellation letter in writing and then sign it by hand. The letter must include your name, your address, the current date and the reason for cancellation. Under “Cancellation letter” in the above list of our cancellation services, you can create a sample letter using your basic data.

It is essential that you stick to the specific termination deadlines, as cancellation letters submitted late are not valid, meaning that your policy will be tacitly extended for a further year. You must also bear in mind that the key date is not the date of the postmark but the time at which the recipient receives the cancellation letter. The risk of delays in postal delivery (due to bank holidays or absences, for example) is borne by the sender. To prevent any disputes, it is advisable to send the cancellation letter in plenty of time by registered mail. You can also ask your insurer for a confirmation of receipt to be on the safe side.

Résilier sans souci – et passer facilement à la nouvelle assurance

Délais de résiliation, modèle de lettre et affiliation à une nouvelle assurance


Nous vous indiquons comment résilier très facilement votre assurance, en seulement quatre étapes, et passer à une autre compagnie d'assurance. Vous trouverez ci-après de nombreuses informations, conseils et modèles concernant la « résiliation » pour divers assureurs de Suisse. De quoi connaître vos droits et les délais à respecter. Vous pourrez également créer votre lettre de résiliation en ligne, grâce aux modèles de lettre gratuits à télécharger.


Voici un aperçu des pages de comparis.ch vous renseignant sur vos droits, les délais et les formalités à respecter. Vous pourrez également y télécharger divers modèles de lettre très utiles.

 

 


 

Conditions et délais 
Les assurances ont toutes leurs propres conditions et délais de résiliation, que vous devez respecter lorsque vous mettez unilatéralement fin au contrat. L'assurance maladie, par exemple, sera résiliable dans un délai d’un mois ou trois pour la fin de l'année, selon qu’il s'agit d’une couverture de base ou complémentaire. Un contrat d'assurance de choses, en revanche, n’est souvent résiliable qu’à l’échéance de celui-ci. Le procédé précis dépend du contrat et du prestataire. Pour connaître la date de résiliation précise, consultez au mieux les conditions générales d'assurance.

Lorsque l’on résilie un contrat d'assurance comme indiqué plus haut, on parle d’une résiliation ordinaire. Mais dans certaines situations, les contrats d'assurance prévoient de plus des motifs de résiliation extraordinaires. Cela est par exemple le cas lors d’une augmentation de la prime d'assurance maladie en général ou d’un sinistre d'assurance automobile couvert, où le preneur d'assurance a la possibilité de résilier le contrat. Vous trouverez un aperçu des motifs de résiliation extraordinaires valides via les liens qui suivent pour les assurances concernées.

Forme et envoi
En cas de résiliation, la forme revêt une importance particulière. Veillez notamment aux points suivants : De manière générale, la résiliation requiert la forme écrite. En d'autres termes, vous devez communiquer votre résiliation par écrit et apposer votre signature manuscrite. La lettre doit également spécifier votre nom, votre adresse, la date du jour et indiquer le motif de la résiliation. Dans la liste plus haut, sous services de résiliation, vous pourrez également télécharger un modèle de « lettre de résiliation » et le compléter avec les informations vous concernant. 

Respectez impérativement les délais de résiliation, car une résiliation en retard n’est pas valide et votre contrat sera tacitement reconduit d’un an. Point important : ce n'est pas la date figurant sur le cachet de la poste mais la date de réception, à laquelle le destinataire prend connaissance de la résiliation, qui fait foi. Le risque de retard d'acheminement (jours fériés, absences durant les vacances) incombe à l'expéditeur. Afin d’éviter toute déconvenue, le mieux est d’envoyer la lettre de résiliation en recommandé assez tôt. Pour jouer la carte de la sécurité, vous pouvez également demander un accusé de réception à votre assureur.