Making payments

Massive price differences in resident parking permits

ANALYSIS
| By Leo Hug |
Source: iStock / Oleksandr Filon

Comparis scrutinized the prices of residential parking permits in the 40 biggest Swiss towns and cities and discovered that they differ enormously. The cost varies from 8 to 1,080 francs.

If you live in a city and have a car, you will be well aware that it’s difficult to find somewhere to park and rents are high. Swiss cities therefore offer long-term parking permits for residents. However, this analysis by Comparis shows that the prices vary immensely from place to place. For example, residents of Riehen (BS) pay just 8 francs for an annual parking permit, while in Wetzikon (ZH) the same type of permit costs 1,080 francs. Elsewhere, the 1,000-franc parking permit in Rapperswil (ZH) can only be used in certain car parks, while Baar (AG) offers no residential parking permits at all.

Lower prices in French-speaking Switzerland

The western cantons are more generous towards residents who do not have their own parking space. In the canton of Geneva, towns and cities charge 200 francs for an annual parking permit. In 2011, voters in La Chaux-de-Fonds decided by a large majority that parking should be free for residents, apart from an administration free of 20 francs. However, our table shows that long-term parking permits are also inexpensive in the cantons of Bern and Basel-Stadt. In fact, Riehen (BS) leads the way when it comes to cheap parking, charging just 8 francs per year.

Town/city Price of annual parking permit
Baar ZG
No long-term parking permit
Wetzikon ZH
CHF 1,080
Rapperswil-Jona SG
CHF 1,000
Wädenswil ZH*
CHF 720
Winterthur ZH
CHF 710
Lucerne
CHF 600
Chur GR**
CHF 600
Kriens LU
CHF 600
Wil SG
CHF 600
Uster ZH***
CHF 540
Lausanne VD
CHF 500
Dübendorf ZH
CHF 500
Lugano TI
CHF 480
Dietikon ZH
CHF 480
Kreuzlingen TG
CHF 420
Schaffhausen
CHF 420
Fribourg
CHF 396
St. Gallen
CHF 360
Köniz BE
CHF 360
Zug
CHF 360
Frauenfeld TG
CHF 360
Renens VD
CHF 360
Emmen LU
CHF 350
Biel/Bienne BE
CHF 330
Zurich
CHF 300
Sion VS
CHF 300
Bulle FR
CHF 300
Basel
CHF 284
Yverdon-les-Bains VD
CHF 270
Bern
CHF 264
Thun BE
CHF 220
Geneva
CHF 200
Vernier GE
CHF 200
Lancy GE
CHF 200
Meyrin GE
CHF 200
Carouge GE
CHF 200
Montreux VD
CHF 170
Neuchâtel NE
CHF 110
La Chaux-de-Fonds NE
CHF 20
Riehen BS
CHF 8

* Without a public transport pass, the cheapest option for residents of Wädenswil is the Glärnisch car park, for which a permit costs 864 francs. 
** Only on the outskirts at Obere Au
*** As well as 60 francs per year for daytime parking, an additional charge of 40 francs per month for overnight parking applies.

High taxes – lower charges

Comparis governmental fees expert Leo Hug accounts for these – often hefty – price differences as follows: “The way long-term parking charges are handled has more to do with tax than linguistic region.” For example, the cantons of Bern and Basel, along with the cantons in French-speaking Switzerland, are high-tax areas. This is no coincidence, believes Hug: “In high-tax areas, citizens are less amenable to paying out more in additional charges.”

Prices increases under consideration

“In the region of Zurich and in central and eastern Switzerland, there is a trend towards higher prices or restrictions on the issuing of long-term parking permits,” says the Comparis expert. For example, in July, Zurich City Council submitted an ordinance (in German only) to its parliament proposing to increase the price of an annual parking permit from 300 francs to 780 francs. Wetzikon, too, is about to overhaul its system for parking management and is therefore not currently selling any annual parking permits. From 2021, the City Council of Lucerne plans to issue parking permits only to those residents who can prove that there are no parking spaces available in their residential complex.

Paiement

Différences de prix énormes pour le stationnement résidentiel

ANALYSES
| Par Leo Hug |
Photo : iStock / Oleksandr Filon

Comparis a passé à la loupe le prix des cartes de stationnement résidentiel dans les 40 plus grandes villes de Suisse. Les écarts de prix sont monumentaux. Un abonnement annuel est facturé entre 8 et 1080 francs.

Les citadins véhiculés le savent bien : trouver une place de parc n’est pas chose facile et cela coûte cher. C’est pourquoi les villes suisses proposent des cartes de stationnement permanent à leurs habitants. L’analyse de Comparis révèle pourtant que les prix varient fortement d’une ville à l’autre. En effet, les habitants de Riehen (BS) ne déboursent que 8 francs pour une carte annuelle tandis qu’à Wetzikon (ZH), le stationnement résidentiel coûte 1080 francs à l’année. À Rapperswil (SG) en revanche, la carte annuelle de stationnement, au prix de 1000 francs, ne permet de se garer que sur certains parkings et quant à Baar (ZG), la ville ne propose aucune carte de stationnement aux résidents.

Les villes romandes facturent moins

Les cantons romands sont plus généreux avec leurs habitants qui ne disposent pas d’une place de parc privée. Les villes du canton de Genève facturent 200 francs à l’année pour les cartes de stationnement permanent. En 2011, les citoyens et citoyennes de La Chaux-de-Fonds ont décidé à une large majorité que le stationnement résidentiel devait être gratuit. Seul un émolument administratif de 20 francs est exigé. Mais la grille montre qu’il existe aussi des emplacements bon marché pour les automobilistes en quête d’un stationnement résidentiel dans les cantons de Berne et de Bâle-Ville. Avec un montant de 8 francs à l’année, c’est même Riehen qui tient le haut du panier, disposant de l’offre la plus basse.

Ville Prix carte annuelle de stationnement
Baar ZG
Pas de stationnement résidentiel
Wetzikon ZH
1080 CHF
Rapperswil-Jona SG
1000 CHF
Wädenswil ZH*
720 CHF
Winterthour ZH
710 CHF
Lucerne
600 CHF
Coire GR**
600 CHF
Kriens LU
600 CHF
Wil SG
600 CHF
Uster ZH***
540 CHF
Lausanne VD
500 CHF
Dübendorf ZH
500 CHF
Lugano TI
480 CHF
Dietikon ZH
480 CHF
Kreuzlingen TG
420 CHF
Schaffhouse
420 CHF
Fribourg
396 CHF
Saint-Gall
360 CHF
Köniz BE
360 CHF
Zoug
360 CHF
Frauenfeld TG
360 CHF
Renens VD
360 CHF
Emmen LU
350 CHF
Bienne BE
330 CHF
Zurich
300 CHF
Sion VS
300 CHF
Bulle FR
300 CHF
Bâle
284 CHF
Yverdon-les-Bains VD
270 CHF
Berne
264 CHF
Thoune BE
220 CHF
Genève
200 CHF
Vernier GE
200 CHF
Lancy GE
200 CHF
Meyrin GE
200 CHF
Carouge GE
200 CHF
Montreux VD
170 CHF
Neuchâtel NE
110 CHF
La Chaux-de-Fonds NE
20 CHF
Riehen BS
8 CHF

* Option la moins chère pour les résidents de Wädenswil sans abonnement transport : 864 francs (parking de Glärnisch). 
** Limitation à « Oberen Au » en bordure de ville.
*** Aux 60 francs annuels exigés pour le stationnement de jour viennent s’ajouter 40 francs par mois pour le stationnement de nuit.

Impôts élevés, tarifs bas

Selon Leo Hug, expert Taxes et prélèvements chez Comparis, les différences de prix parfois considérables s’expliquent par le fait que « La tolérance vis-à-vis du stationnement permanent est moins une question d’ordre linguistique que fiscal ». Les cantons de Bâle et de Berne notamment, de même que les autres cantons de Suisse romande, comptent parmi les régions prélevant le plus d’impôts. Une situation qui, selon lui, ne tient en rien du hasard puisque « Dans les régions où l’imposition est forte, les gens sont moins disposés à payer des taxes. »

Débats sur les hausses de prix

« Dans la région de Zurich, ainsi qu’en Suisse centrale et orientale, la tendance est à la hausse des prix ou à l’application de restrictions sur l’octroi des cartes », constate L. Hug. En juillet, le conseil municipal zurichois a par exemple soumis une ordonnance à son parlement (en allemand uniquement), laquelle prévoit une augmentation du tarif de la carte de stationnement résidentiel de 300 francs à 780 francs. Wetzikon s’apprête également à changer son système de gestion des places de stationnement, raison pour laquelle aucune carte de stationnement annuelle n’est vendue pour le moment. Le conseil municipal de Lucerne entend attribuer des cartes de stationnement permanent à compter de 2021 uniquement si les résidents concernés sont en mesure d’établir qu’aucune place de parc n’est disponible dans l’immeuble où ils habitent.