Pensions

Pillar 3a – when to pay in to save on tax

TIPS
|
Time's running out: don't forget to pay into your pillar 3a before the holidays. Source: iStock / BrianAJackson

There are tax benefits to paying into a pillar 3a account. To ensure that the money arrives at the bank or insurance company in time to be deducted for tax purposes, you should make your payment before the holidays.

Private pensions (third pillar) are becoming increasingly important. They can be used to bridge any gaps left by the first two pillars, as well as to finance any additional needs that may arise.

Save on tax with the third pillar

As an incentive, the government allows you to deduct pillar 3a contributions from your taxable income. What’s more, these retirement savings are exempt from wealth tax. You do not have to pay income and withholding tax on interest and capital gains either. The flip side of these tax advantages is that the pillar 3a savings are tied up until five years before you reach statutory retirement age, and can only be withdrawn earlier under certain conditions (e.g. to buy a residential property).

What is the maximum I can pay into pillar 3a?

There are restrictions on how much you can pay into a pillar 3a account each year. For those belonging to an occupational pension fund, the annual contribution to pillar 3a in 2018 is limited to a maximum of 6,768 francs (6,826 francs in 2019). Those without an occupational pension may pay in a maximum of 33,840 francs (up to 20 per cent of their net income) (34,128 francs in 2019). Banks and insurance companies won’t accept any more than this. While some just return the excess amount, others send back the entire contribution.

So be aware: if you do not notice the returned payment and then miss the deadline for the new payment, you will not be able to claim a tax deduction the following year.

What is the deadline for paying into pillar 3a?

You need to pay into your pillar 3a before the holidays. This ensures that the amount paid in arrives at the bank or insurance company in time for it to be deducted for tax purposes. To be on the safe side, it’s a good idea to check that the bank has processed the payment correctly in the retirement savings account.

Prévoyance

Pilier 3a : jusqu'à quand effectuer les versements pour économiser des impôts ?

CONSEILS
|
Compte à rebours : il est conseillé d'effectuer ses versements au pilier 3a avant les fêtes. Photo : iStock / BrianAJackson

Les versements au pilier 3a offrent des avantages fiscaux. Afin de pouvoir déduire des impôts les montants versés à l’établissement financier, il est conseillé d’effectuer les versements encore avant les fêtes.

La prévoyance privée (3e pilier) gagne en importance : cela permet, d’une part, de combler les éventuelles lacunes des deux premiers piliers ; d’autre part, d’assurer des besoins financiers supplémentaires.

Économiser des impôts grâce au 3e pilier

La Confédération encourage les versements au pilier 3a par la possibilité de les déduire du revenu imposable. De plus, les avoirs de prévoyance ne sont pas soumis à l’impôt sur la fortune, les revenus d’intérêts et de gains en capital sont exonérés d’impôts sur le revenu et de l’impôt anticipé. Ce traitement fiscal avantageux a toutefois un bémol : les avoirs de prévoyance versés au pilier 3a sont bloqués jusque cinq ans avant l’âge de la retraite ordinaire AVS et ne peuvent être retirés que sous certaines conditions (p. ex. pour le financement d’un bien immobilier).

Quel est le montant maximal que je peux verser au pilier 3a ?

Les cotisations annuelles au pilier 3a sont plafonnées : pour les personnes affiliées à une caisse de pension, le montant maximal est fixé à 6768 francs pour 2018 (6826 francs en 2019). Les personnes sans caisse de pension peuvent, quant à elles, verser tout au plus 33 840 francs (20 % maximum du revenu net) (34 128 francs en 2019). Les banques et les assurances n'acceptent pas de montants supérieurs à cela. Certains établissements financiers retournent l’excédent au débiteur ; d’autres retournent directement le montant total.

Attention : si vous ne remarquez pas le retour de la transaction et manquez le délai de versement, vous ne pourrez pas faire valoir la déduction d’impôt l’année suivante.

Jusqu'à quelle date devrais-je effectuer les versements au pilier 3a ?

Il est conseillé d’effectuer ses versements au pilier 3a avant les fêtes. De cette manière, vous vous assurez que le montant versé arrive à temps auprès de l’établissement financier et que vous pourrez le déduire des impôts. Contrôlez au mieux si la banque a bien placé le versement sur le compte de prévoyance.

Ces articles pourraient également vous intéresser :

Pilier 3a : des versements même modestes rapportent
Splitting du pilier 3a : plusieurs comptes, même avec des avoirs modestes, c’est intéressant