Making payments

The finances of Swiss households in 2018

STUDY
|
Positive outlook for the 2018 financial year. Source: iStock

Almost a third of the Swiss population expect to fare better financially this year than in 2017. This is not the case in Ticino, where only one in five anticipates an improvement to their financial situation. Overall, men and young people are the most optimistic, while those wishing to cut costs prefer to spend less on electronic devices and going out. These were the results of our representative survey.

The Swiss consider their financial prospects for 2018 to be positive on the whole. Two thirds of those surveyed can either afford almost everything or are at least happy with their finances, even if a few wishes remain unmet. However, over a quarter of respondents have to make serious cutbacks in order to stay on top of bills. Seven per cent of the population do not have enough money to meet their financial obligations. Overall, the Swiss consider themselves to be slightly better off financially than they were a year ago. 

Regional differences – Ticino struggling

The German-speaking Swiss had the most positive outlook with respect to the way their personal finances are panning out. A third expect to see an improvement in 2018 (26 per cent in the French-speaking part, 20 per cent in Ticino). People in Ticino are are particularly susceptible to financial difficulties. There, more than half stated that they can barely keep up with their expenses, if at all. In German-speaking Switzerland, only one in three is struggling financially, while in the French-speaking part, around 40 per cent need to track every franc in order to make ends meet. 

Men and young people upbeat

Men in particular see their financial situation as positive – 36 per cent said they would be better off or somewhat better off financially in 2018 compared to 2017. Only 25 per cent of women held this view. Young people appear to be particularly optimistic. Almost one in two people under 36 stated that their financial situation would be better or somewhat better than the previous year.

Preferred ways to cut back? Electronics and going out

If the Swiss need to curb their expenditure, they prefer to do this by avoiding unnecessary and spontaneous purchases. Products they are most likely to cut back on are electronic devices. The Swiss also find it relatively easy to reduce how often they eat out or go out in the evenings.

Men invest – women relax and enjoy themselves

By contrast, those who have some money to spare prefer to put it aside. Men and women are noticeably different when it comes to how they handle their surplus funds. While men would invest this money, women are more likely to use it to treat themselves to beauty and wellness activities.

Paiement

Les finances des ménages suisses en 2018

ÉTUDES
|
Perspectives financières positives pour l’année 2018. Photo : iStock

Près d’un tiers de la population suisse escompte une amélioration de sa situation financière par rapport à 2017. Sauf dans le Tessin, où seule une personne sur cinq entrevoit 2018 sous un jour meilleur. Globalement, ce sont surtout les hommes et les jeunes les plus optimistes. Et quand sacrifices il doit y avoir, c’est avant tout d’électronique et de sorties dont on se prive, c’est ce que révèle notre enquête représentative.

Les Suisses jugent leur situation financière globalement positive. Deux tiers des sondés disent pouvoir s’offrir presque tout ce qui leur plaît ou, tout au moins, être satisfaits de leurs finances, même avec quelques souhaits inassouvis. De l’autre côté, plus d’un quart des sondés doit se serrer la ceinture pour pouvoir régler toutes les factures, et pour 7 % de la population, l’argent manque pour joindre les deux bouts. Par rapport à l’année dernière, les Suisses estiment leur situation financière légèrement meilleure en 2018. 

Disparités régionales : le Tessin à la peine

Les plus optimistes dans ce domaine sont les Suisses alémaniques, puisqu’un sur trois s’attend à une amélioration de ses finances (contre 26 % en Romandie et 20 % dans le Tessin). Les plus concernés par les difficultés financières sont les Tessinois. Un sur deux avoue ne pas ou tout juste pouvoir faire face aux dépenses. En Suisse alémanique, la proportion est ramenée à un sur trois et en Romandie, ils sont 40 % à compter le moindre franc ou à ne pas s’en sortir. 

Les hommes et les jeunes sont optimistes

Ce sont essentiellement les hommes qui évaluent positivement leur situation financière. Ainsi, 36 % des hommes ont indiqué que 2018 sera financièrement meilleure voire plutôt meilleure que 2017. Les femmes, elles, ne sont que 25 % à partager cet avis. Les jeunes se montrent particulièrement optimistes. Près d’une personne sur deux de moins de 36 ans estime en effet que sa situation financière en 2018 sera meilleure ou plutôt meilleure qu’en 2017.

Faire des concessions ? Tout au plus sur l’électronique et les sorties

Lorsque les Suisses doivent faire des coupes franches dans leurs dépenses, ils éliminent avant tout les achats inutiles et spontanés. Ils se privent ainsi d’abord d’appareils électroniques, puis de repas au restaurant ou de sorties.

Les hommes investissent, les femmes se choient

Qui, en revanche, a de l’argent à libre disposition choisit plutôt de le mettre de côté. Il est frappant de voir qu’hommes et femmes utilisent l’argent de manière différente. Ainsi, les hommes investiraient l’argent disponible tandis que les femmes prendraient plus fréquemment soin d’elles en s'offrant des plaisirs de beauté et de bien-être (wellness).