Comparis
Newsletter
en

Insurance

Cars & motorcycles

Property

Loans & mortgages

Price comparison

Healthcare & pensions

Other services

Comparis

Menu

Loans & mortgagesPersonal loansCar loans

Car loans: financing that gets you on the road

Ready to purchase a new car? You might be wondering how to pay for it. Financing options depend on the type of vehicle, type of use, and your personal preferences and plans. Find out here if a car loan is the right solution for you.

Overview:

  • What is a car loan?
  • When does it make sense to take out a loan for buying a car?
  • What are the advantages of car loans?

What is a car loan?

A car loan is a loan that you can take out to finance the purchase of a vehicle. In fact, for most lenders, car loans are the same as personal loans. This means that the loan isn't tied to your car purchase: you can basically use the amount for whatever you want. The term car loan is used in order to highlight the differences and advantages compared to a car lease.

Did you know…?

Financing the purchase of a vehicle is the most common reason for taking out a loan. More than one-fifth of Swiss households have at least one loan for buying a car. (Source: Federal Statistical Office, February 2020, in German only).


In most cases, a car loan is the same as a personal loan. This means that you could also use the loan for something other than buying a car. Lenders simply call it a car loan for marketing purposes – and to highlight the differences and advantages compared to leasing a car. This also applies to the product “Cashgate Credit Drive” for instance: although the name suggests it's a special car loan, it is no different than other Cashgate products.

In Switzerland there are currently two loan options specifically for purchasing a vehicle. Unlike standard personal loans, these are strictly car loans that must be used for buying a car and can only be obtained from an authorized dealer. The amount of the loan is transferred to the dealer instead of the borrower.

  • Cembra Financing Plus car loan (for used cars)
  • BCGE car loan (offered by Banque Cantonale de Genève)

The main difference with these dedicated car loans is that the car acts as a seizable asset in case of non-payment – the same as with leasing plans. This has an impact on how the lender assesses the risk of the loan and the eligibility criteria for the borrower.

Dedicated car loans are tied to the underlying seizable asset (in this case, the car) and come with additional requirements. In the case of Cembra, these requirements are as follows:

  • "Code 178: Change of keeper prohibited" applies, which means that you are not allowed to sell the car (the same as with leasing).
  • A retention of title will be registered for amounts of CHF 25,000 and above. 

At 7.95% or 9.95%, the interest rates for Cembra car loans are no cheaper than Cembra personal loans.

When is it worth taking out a car loan?

When buying a car, you have the option of paying in cash, entering into a leasing agreement or taking out a car loan. Paying in cash is definitely the cheapest option, but the funds aren't always available. If your budget is tight, it makes more sense to take out a loan to buy a used car instead of leasing a new car. This means that most cars bought on credit are vehicles for everyday use, not luxury purchases. 

Reasons for taking out a car loan:

  • You can't wait to make the purchase. 
  • Your family is about to grow.
  • Your current car broke down. 
  • You don't want to dip into your savings.

Ready to take out a car loan?

When taking out a car loan, the same conditions apply as with a normal personal loan.

You will need to undergo an individual credit check to find out whether you'll be approved for a loan and at what conditions. When it comes to the interest rate, the following typically applies: the lower the interest rate, the stricter the eligibility criteria. Around half of all direct loan applications to banks are rejected.

You can increase your chances of getting the loan you need by applying via Comparis. The loan experts at Credaris, a partner service of Comparis, will thoroughly review your application and submit it to the most appropriate lender – free of charge and with no obligation.

Submit loan enquiry

What are the advantages of car loans?

The vehicle financing options described above are personal loans, car loans and leasing.

Here's an overview of the differences:

OwnershipFree choice of insurerService garagePossible to resellUnlimited mileage
Personal loanYesYesFree choiceYesYes
Car loanYesYesFree choiceLimitedYes
LeasingNoLimitedFixed in the contractNoNo

Taking out a loan to purchase a car also has the following advantages:

  • The car is not linked to any financing agreement.
  • No calculation of residual value or pre-emption right.
  • Debt interest can be deducted from your taxes.
  • You always have the option of paying back the loan early.
  • Unlike leasing, there are no additional costs when terminating the contract.

More information: when does it make sense to choose a car loan vs. leasing?

FAQs: frequently asked questions about car loans

The eligibility requirements for a car loan are the same as for a normal personal loan. The basic criteria include your credit capacity, creditworthiness, age, occupation, etc. Furthermore, every lender uses internal criteria that are not published for security reasons. You can find out more about eligibility criteria here.
In order to submit a personal loan application, you will need to provide your salary statement(s) and a notarized copy of your identity card or passport. Non-Swiss residents will need to provide a copy of their settlement or residence permit or their passport. Lenders will often request a copy of your tenancy agreement as well. Whether other documents are needed at a later stage of the application process depends on your personal situation and the requirements of the lender.
The interest rate you receive depends on your credit score. You first need to submit a loan application in order to find out whether you'll be approved and what interest rate you'll receive. You can check approximately how much you can borrow by using our affordability calculator.
Yes. In Switzerland, loans can be refinanced or paid back in full at any time, thereby terminating the contract.
Interest rates range from 3.5% to 9.9%. The interest rate you receive depends on your credit score and the lender's risk assessment. Around half of all loan applications are rejected. You can submit a free loan enquiry to get a professional opinion on your options and possible interest rate.

Personal loans – quickly, safely and with no obligation

Our experts can negotiate the best rates for you.
Find the best deal now

Approval of a loan is forbidden by law if it would lead to over-indebtedness (Art. 3 UWG).

Back to top

Newsletter

Stay up-to-date with the latest savings deals as well as expert tips on health, money and tax.

By registering, I agree to my data being processed in accordance with the data privacy statement of comparis.ch.

comparis.ch
  • About Comparis

  • Career

Social Media
Language
  • DE
  • FR
  • IT
  • EN
  • Contact
  • Data privacy protection
  • Legal information
  • Credits

© 1996–2020 comparis.ch AG, Birmensdorferstrasse 108, 8003 Zurich, +41 44 360 52 62

Comparis
Newsletter
fr

Assurances

Auto & moto

Immobilier

Crédit & hypothèques

Comparateur de prix

Santé & prévoyance

Autres services

Comparis

Menu

Crédit & hypothèquesCrédit privéCrédit automobile

Crédit automobile : le bon financement pour votre mobilité

Vous avez trouvé la voiture que vous recherchiez ? Se pose maintenant la question de son financement. Votre choix va dépendre du véhicule, de son usage ou encore de vos préférences et de projets personnels. Découvrez dans les lignes qui vont suivre si la souscription d’un crédit automobile est adaptée à vos besoins.

Sommaire :

  • Qu’est-ce qu’un crédit automobile ?
  • Dans quels cas est-il judicieux de contracter un crédit automobile ?
  • Quels sont les avantages d’un crédit automobile ?

Qu’est-ce qu’un crédit automobile ?

Dans le langage courant, on appelle crédit automobile un crédit privé destiné à l’acquisition d’une voiture. En réalité, la plupart des prêteurs ne font pas la distinction entre crédit automobile et crédit privé. En d’autres termes, le montant du crédit n’est pas lié à l’achat d’une voiture : il peut être utilisé pour autre chose. L’appellation « crédit automobile » sert à signaler les différences et les avantages de ce type de financement par rapport au leasing.

Saviez-vous que…

Le financement d’un véhicule est le motif le plus fréquent de souscription d’un crédit : plus de 20 % des ménages suisses ont souscrit au moins un crédit à cet effet. (Source : Office fédéral de la statistique, février 2020).


Pour la plupart des prêteurs, un crédit automobile est strictement identique à un crédit privé. En d’autres termes, le montant du crédit peut être mobilisé pour autre chose que l’achat d’une voiture. L’appellation « crédit automobile » existe à des fins commerciales : elle sert à signaler les différences et les avantages de ce type de financement par rapport au leasing. Pour prendre un exemple, il en va de même du Crédit Drive de cashgate : le nom suggère qu’il s’agit d’un crédit automobile spécifique, mais il ne se distingue pas des autres crédits de cashgate.

Le marché suisse du crédit comporte actuellement deux offres spécifiquement destinées à l’achat d’une voiture. Contrairement au crédit privé traditionnel, ces offres sont liées et ne peuvent servir qu’à l’achat d’une voiture. Pour y souscrire, il faut obligatoirement passer par l’intermédiaire d’un vendeur professionnel : c’est à lui – en général un garage ou un concessionnaire – qu’est viré le montant du prêt et non pas au preneur de crédit.

  • Le Financement Plus de Cembra (pour les occasions)
  • Le Crédit Véhicule de la BCGE (Banque Cantonale de Genève)

La principale spécificité de ce « véritable » crédit automobile, c’est que le véhicule acheté devient un actif saisissable, comme dans le cadre d’un leasing. L’évaluation du risque du preneur de crédit et les conditions qu’il doit remplir s’en trouvent impactées.

Pour garantir la saisissabilité du bien, un crédit automobile à proprement parler est lié et assorti d’exigences supplémentaires. Chez Cembra, elles se déclinent comme suit :

  • Le code 178 « changement de détenteur interdit » est inscrit (comme c’est le cas dans le cadre d’un leasing), empêchant la vente du véhicule.
  • À partir d’un montant de financement de 25 000 francs, une réserve de propriété est enregistrée. 

À 7,95 % ou 9,95 %, les taux du crédit automobile proposé par Cembra ne sont pas moins élevés que le taux de son crédit privé.

Quand souscrire un crédit privé ?

La question se pose à l’achat d’un véhicule : entre le paiement comptant, le financement par leasing et le crédit automobile, quelle option privilégier ? La moins chère est certainement le paiement comptant, mais on n’a pas toujours les moyens pour choisir cette option. Surtout si vous disposez d’un budget serré, mieux vaut acheter une voiture d’occasion à crédit que neuve en leasing. La plupart des achats de voiture à crédit concernent des véhicules du quotidien et non pas des berlines de luxe. 

Souvent, une demande de crédit automobile est motivée par :

  • l’urgence de l’achat ; 
  • une naissance ;
  • un défaut de la voiture utilisée jusqu’alors ; 
  • la volonté de ne pas toucher à ses économies.

Vous avez décidé d’opter pour un crédit ?

Les conditions à remplir pour obtenir un crédit automobile sont les mêmes que pour un crédit privé traditionnel.

Vous ne connaîtrez l’issue de votre demande et les conditions de votre éventuelle offre de prêt qu’une fois votre situation personnelle examinée. S’agissant du taux, d’une manière générale, plus il est avantageux et plus les exigences à l’égard du preneur de crédit sont strictes. Les banques refusent près de la moitié des demandes de crédit reçues directement.

Déposez une demande sur Comparis pour augmenter vos chances d’obtenir le montant souhaité. À l’issue d’un examen rigoureux de votre dossier, les spécialistes du crédit de Credaris, un service partenaire de Comparis, déposent votre demande auprès du prêteur le plus adapté au vu de votre profil – gratuitement et sans engagement.

Envoyer ma demande de crédit

Quels sont les avantages d’un crédit automobile ?

Pour l’achat d’une voiture, les possibilités de financement abordées jusqu’ici sont le crédit privé, le crédit automobile lié et le leasing.

Chaque solution présente des caractéristiques propres quant aux aspects suivants :

PropriétéLibre choix de l’assuranceChoix du garageChangement de détenteurKilométrage illimité
Crédit privéOuiOuiLibreOuiOui
Crédit propre à l’achat d’un véhiculeOuiOuiLibreLimitéOui
LeasingNonLimitéFixé par contratNonNon

La souscription d’un crédit pour l’achat d’une voiture présente en outre les avantages suivants :

  • La voiture n’est pas liée au contrat de financement.
  • Pas de calcul de la valeur résiduelle ni d’accord sur un droit de préemption.
  • Les intérêts de la dette sont déductibles des impôts.
  • Un crédit peut être remboursé de manière anticipée à tout moment.
  • Contrairement au leasing, la dissolution du contrat de prêt n’entraîne aucune pénalité.

Informations complémentaires : Dans quel cas souscrire un crédit auto, dans quel autre un leasing ?

FAQ : questions fréquemment posées sur le crédit automobile

Les conditions applicables à un crédit automobile sont identiques à celles d’un crédit privé traditionnel. Parmi les critères fondamentaux, on retrouve la capacité de contracter un crédit telle que définie par la loi, la capacité de remboursement, l’âge ou encore l’activité lucrative exercée. Pour en savoir plus à ce sujet, consultez l’article sur les critères d’obtention d’un crédit privé.<
Pour pouvoir examiner votre demande de crédit privé, l’établissement prêteur requerra dans tous les cas votre (vos) dernier(s) bulletin(s) de salaire et une copie certifiée conforme de votre carte d’identité ou de votre passeport ou, si vous n’êtes pas de nationalité suisse, de votre autorisation d’établissement et de votre autorisation de séjour ou de votre passeport. Bien souvent, la présentation du contrat de bail est aussi exigée. Les éventuels documents à communiquer dans la suite du processus dépendent de la situation personnelle du demandeur et des exigences du prestataire.
Le taux accordé dépend de la solvabilité du demandeur. Ce n’est qu’en déposant une demande auprès d’un établissement que vous apprendrez si vous pouvez obtenir un crédit et, si oui, à quel taux. Pour connaître le montant que vous pourriez emprunter, rendez-vous sur notre calculateur de ligne de crédit.
Oui, en Suisse, les crédits peuvent à tout moment être rachetés ou remboursés en totalité. Un tel évènement met fin au contrat.
Les taux d’intérêt se situent entre 3,5 % et 9,9 %. Le taux qui vous sera proposé dépend de votre solvabilité et des critères de risque du prêteur. Les banques refusent près de la moitié des demandes de crédit. Obtenez l’estimation d’un professionnel en ce qui concerne les autres possibilités qui s’offrent à vous et le taux qui pourrait vous être proposé en faisant une demande gratuite.

Un crédit privé – rapide, sûr et sans engagement

Nos experts négocient les meilleures conditions pour vous.
Trouver la meilleure offre