Switching insurers

Cancel by the end of March and switch health insurance mid-year

TIPS
|
How to switch contracts mid-year: sign the cancellation letter and make sure your health insurer receives it before 31 March. Source: iStock.com/izusek

Holders of a standard model policy with a deductible of 300 francs have a special cancellation right. They may switch health insurance as of 30 June. However, to do this, they are required to cancel their previous insurance policy by the end of March. A fast and easy way is to use the letter template provided by comparis.ch.

Those who switch health insurance now can benefit from lower premiums in the second half of the year. This option is available only to those having the standard model of basic health insurance with a deductible of 300 francs (0 francs for children). A mid-year change of health insurance is not possible for those with a higher deductible or an alternative insurance model such as family doctor, HMO or Telmed. Unlike when you switch at the end of the year, you are not allowed to increase your deductible when you switch mid-year.

3 points to note when you switch mid-year

  • To switch to a new health insurer in the middle of the year, you need to give three months’ notice, i.e. your cancellation letter must be received by the current provider by the end of March at the latest.
  • It is best to send the cancellation letter by registered post. You can find a template for this letter here.
  • If you are behind on your premium payments, the health insurer may reject your cancellation. 

Under what circumstances can I cancel by the end of May?

If an insurance company raises its premiums in the middle of the year, it must notify its policyholders of this change by the end of April. In this case, policyholders enjoy a special right to cancel by the end of May. They then switch to the new health insurance deal on 1 July. 

What are the benefits of switching health insurance in the middle of the year?

There are many reasons to change health insurance providers. Most people switch to save money. Since the benefits of mandatory basic health insurance are the same everywhere, changing to the least expensive provider is an obvious decision.

Some policyholders want better service. To find out more about how the different insurers compare in terms of customer satisfaction, you can visit the Comparis Community or view the results of our annual survey of several thousand health insurance customers.

Changer d'assureur

Résilier d'ici à fin mars et changer de caisse maladie en milieu d’année

CONSEILS
|
Pour résilier votre contrat en milieu d’année : signez la lettre de résiliation et faites-la parvenir à votre caisse maladie d’ici au 31 mars. Photo : iStock.com/izusek

Le modèle standard avec une franchise de 300 francs est soumis à un droit de résiliation extraordinaire qui permet de changer de caisse maladie au 30 juin. Mais pour cela, il faut résilier l'assurance actuelle fin mars. Avec le modèle de lettre de comparis.ch, c’est très simple et cela ne prend presque pas de temps.

En changeant aujourd'hui de caisse maladie, vous profiterez de primes plus avantageuses dès le deuxième semestre de l’année. Cependant, cela concerne l’assurance base et uniquement les assurés ayant le modèle standard et une franchise de 300 francs, ou de 0 francs pour les enfants. Si votre franchise est plus élevée ou que vous avez choisi un modèle alternatif tel que le médecin de famille, HMO ou Telmed, vous n'avez pas cette possibilité. De plus, à la différence d'un changement de caisse en fin d'année, il n'est pas possible d'augmenter sa franchise.

Quels sont les points à observer dans le cadre de la résiliation extraordinaire ?

  • Le préavis à respecter est de trois mois lorsque l’on change de caisse en milieu d'année. La caisse maladie actuelle doit donc recevoir la lettre de résiliation au plus tard le 31 mars.
  • La meilleure façon de résilier son contrat est d'envoyer une lettre recommandée. Vous trouverez ici une lettre type de résiliation.
  • S'il reste des primes mensuelles impayées, la caisse est en droit de refuser le changement d'assurance. 

Dans quelles conditions puis-je résilier ma police fin mai ?

Si la caisse augmente la prime en milieu d'année, elle est tenue d’en informer les assurés d'ici fin avril. Dans ce cas, ces derniers peuvent faire valoir un droit de résiliation extraordinaire jusqu'à fin mai. Le changement d’assurance maladie s’opère alors au 1er juillet. 

Quel est l'avantage de changer de caisse en milieu d'année ?

Les raisons de le faire peuvent être diverses. Pour la plupart, la dimension financière sera sans doute déterminante. Les prestations étant toutes comparables dans l'assurance de base obligatoire, il peut sembler évident d'opter pour le prestataire le moins cher.

Néanmoins, certains assurés recherchent un meilleur service. Vous trouverez des informations utiles sur la satisfaction client dans la Comparis Community ainsi que dans les résultats du sondage annuel mené auprès de milliers de clients d'assurances maladie.