Switching insurers

Why the postmark is irrelevant

TIPS
|
What counts is the receipt stamp. Policyholders should therefore allow a time buffer when sending the cancellation letter.

If you want, you can switch health insurance and save on premiums every year. The cancellation letter must be received by the insurance provider by 30th November. Our online draft letter makes this easy and uncomplicated for you.

Don’t leave it to the last minute: Be sure to send off the written cancellation with enough time since for mandatory health insurance the date of receipt by the provider counts and not the postmark date.

The insurance companies must have communicated their new premiums by 31st October. The written cancellation must arrive at the insurance provider no later than 30th November. 1st December will be too late already. Note that the cancellation deadline is irrespective of whether the premiums have gone down, up or are remaining the same. Since delays cannot be ruled out, we recommend sending the cancellation letter by registered mail until mid-November or 28th November at the very latest, so that you can prove that you have given notice in due time.

If you are too late for this, you can also take the cancellation to your insurer in person and ask them to confirm its receipt.

With our online form you can create the cancellation letter for free and with little effort.

Our tip: send the cancellation letter by registered mail. And don’t forget, in order to be able to cancel your health insurance policy, all monthly premiums and out-of-pocket costs (deductibles, coinsurance) must be paid. All bills must be paid before 31st December.

Also, parents are not obliged to insure their children with the same provider as they have. While you may have more administrative work with two separate insurance providers and also miss out on a potential family discount, below the line you are likely to save more money.

If you have already signed a new contract, your old insurance provider will inform the new one of the successful cancellation. You therefore need not worry about going without coverage or having to pay two sets of premiums. However, you don't need to have a new health insurance plan on 30th November, yet. You have until 30th December 2016 for this. 

If you want to learn more about cancellation deadlines under basic insurance and also supplemental insurance, you can find further information here

If you haven't compared your premiums, yet, you can do so now with our free and easy-to-use comparison tool. At just a click, the insurance companies will e-mail you the desired quotes as a PDF file for free. 

Compare premiums now

Changer d'assureur

Pourquoi le cachet de la poste ne fait PAS foi

CONSEILS
|
Le critère déterminant est le cachet apposé à l'arrivée. Les assurés prévoiront donc un court délai de sécurité pour l'envoi de leur lettre de résiliation.

Une fois par an, il est possible de changer de caisse maladie et de faire des économies. Le courrier de résiliation doit parvenir à l'assureur d'ici au 30 novembre. Grâce à notre lettre type de résiliation, c'est simple et rapide.

N'attendez pas la dernière minute pour agir : pensez à envoyer la résiliation écrite à temps. Car pour résilier l'assurance de base obligatoire, c'est le cachet d’arrivée chez l'assureur qui fait foi – et non pas le cachet de la poste.

L'assureur doit avoir communiqué la nouvelle prime au plus tard le 31 octobre, c’est une obligation. La résiliation, elle, doit parvenir à la compagnie d'assurance par écrit d’ici le 30 novembre tout au plus. Le 1er décembre, il sera déjà trop tard. D'ailleurs, le délai de résiliation est le même, peu importe que la prime ait baissé, augmenté ou soit restée inchangée. Comme on ne peut pas exclure d’éventuels retards, il est conseillé d'expédier sa résiliation au plus tard le 28 novembre par envoi recommandé, de sorte à avoir une trace que la résiliation a été effectuée dans les délais.

Si le temps presse, vous pouvez au pire passer en personne chez votre assureur et demander une attestation de la réception.

Grâce à notre formulaire en ligne, vous pouvez créer votre lettre de résiliation gratuitement et en toute facilité.

Le conseil de comparis.ch : envoyez votre lettre en recommandé. Et, n'oubliez pas : changer d'assurance maladie, n'est possible qu'après avoir réglé toutes les primes et participations aux coûts (franchise et quote-part). Toutes les factures doivent être réglées avant le 31 décembre.

De plus, les parents ne sont pas tenus d’assurer leurs enfants auprès de la même caisse d’assurance. Avec des assurances séparées, cela est certes un peu plus compliqué et peut compromettre une éventuelle réduction familiale mais cette démarche permet parfois de réaliser les économies les plus importantes.

Dès que vous avez signé un nouveau contrat, votre compagnie d'assurance actuelle confirmera votre résiliation à votre futur assureur. Il n'y a aucune crainte à avoir, vous ne risquez pas de vous retrouver sans assurance ou avec une double couverture. Pas besoin non plus de choisir une nouvelle assurance de base avant le 30 novembre : vous avez jusqu’au 30 décembre 2016 pour le faire. 

Pour en savoir plus sur les délais de résiliation de l'assurance de base et de l'assurance complémentaire, trouvez ici toutes les informations utiles. 

Vous n'avez pas encore comparé les primes pour votre assurance maladie ? N'hésitez pas, c'est simple et rapide. Il suffit d'un clic pour obtenir par e-mail les offres gratuites d'assurances (PDF) que vous souhaitez. 

Comparer les primes