Comparis
Newsletter
en

Insurance

Cars & motorcycles

Property

Loans & mortgages

Price comparison

Healthcare & pensions

Other services

Comparis

Menu

InsuranceHealth insuranceNew alternative insurance models
Switching insurers

New alternative insurance models

By Felix Schneuwly

13.10.2020

Source: iStock / sturti

Despite the overwhelming rejection of the managed care model in the referendum of 17 June 2012, more and more policyholders are purposely choosing alternative models for their basic insurance, saving 10-15% on premiums in the process – without sacrificing quality of medical care. Nowadays, over 70% of policyholders have an alternative insurance model. Furthermore, insurance companies collaborate with doctors and other medical service providers to create new alternative models every year.

In what ways do alternative models limit my freedom of choice?

All alternative insurance models have one thing in common: policyholders accept a limited choice of service providers (doctors, hospitals, pharmacies etc.) in exchange for a discount on their premiums. Insurance companies must prove how much an alternative insurance model saves in order for the Federal Office of Public Health (FOPH) to approve the premium discount.

Under almost all alternative insurance models, choice of provider is limited at the start of the diagnosis or treatment process. This is known as “gatekeeping”. If you have a Telmed model, you must first call a helpline. If you have a family doctor model, you first consult your family doctor. With an HMO model, you contact the medical centre. With a pharmacy model, you are obliged to purchase any medicine from a particular pharmacy or pharmacy chain. These models save money by preventing patients from going straight to a specialist or turning up at hospital emergency departments with minor ailments. And, with the coronavirus pandemic deterring people from visiting medical practices and hospitals for fear of catching the virus, many have now discovered first hand the benefits of telemedicine.

Compare premiums now

How do alternative insurance models save me money?

You can save money without compromising on the quality of medical care provided. And in fact, models offering more than just “gatekeeping” actually improve quality: with data-driven coordination of complex treatments, patients are spared multiple assessments, the blind search for a suitable doctor or hospital and superfluous or even harmful operations. Here are two examples:

  • With the Multimed model from CSS, you can choose between different first points of contact in the event of illness: either a family doctor from a network/group practice or a telemedicine centre. In addition, you have access to digital support from myGuide. This online questionnaire dynamically orders your responses resulting in a recommendation regarding whether or not you need to see a doctor. Customers who have repeat prescriptions obtain their medicine from mail-order pharmacies.

  • From 1 January 2021, Assura (in German, French and Italian only) will offer a Qualimed model that is 90% the same as a traditional family doctor or telemedicine model in terms of the way it functions. If the family doctor or telemedicine centre decides that the patient needs treatment by a specialist in the field of cardiology, orthopaedics, urology or gastroenterology, the patient contacts the company BetterDoc, based in Basel. After analyzing the family doctor's report and a range of quality data (including training and qualifications, patient satisfaction and specialization), BetterDoc proposes the three most suitable specialists for the patient's situation. The patient can then choose one of them. The BetterDoc concept has provoked a hostile reception from Swiss doctors. Nevertheless, there is a future for data-driven diagnosis and treatment recommendations, not least because they surpass those made by family doctors who simply recommend their friends from medical school.
  • Author

    Felix Schneuwly

    Health & health insurance expert

    media@comparis.ch

    Related articles

    Back to top

    Newsletter

    Stay up-to-date with the latest savings deals as well as expert tips on health, money and tax.

    By registering, I agree to my data being processed in accordance with the data privacy statement of comparis.ch.

    comparis.ch
    • About Comparis

    • Career

    Social Media
    Language
    • DE
    • FR
    • IT
    • EN
    • Contact
    • Data privacy protection
    • Legal information
    • Credits

    © 1996–2020 comparis.ch AG, Birmensdorferstrasse 108, 8003 Zurich, +41 44 360 52 62

Comparis
Newsletter
fr

Assurances

Auto & moto

Immobilier

Crédit & hypothèques

Comparateur de prix

Santé & prévoyance

Autres services

Comparis

Menu

AssurancesAssurance maladieNouveaux modèles alternatifs
Changer d'assureur

Nouveaux modèles alternatifs

Par Felix Schneuwly

13.10.2020

Photo : iStock / sturti

En dépit du rejet en bloc essuyé par le projet Managed Care lors de la votation populaire du 17 juin 2012, les assurés sont toujours plus nombreux à opter de leur propre initiative pour un modèle d’assurance alternatif (MAA) dans le régime de l’assurance de base. Ils économisent ainsi entre 10 et 25 % sur leurs primes et ce, sans devoir faire de concessions sur la qualité de la prise en charge médicale. Aujourd’hui, plus de 70 % des assurés sont affiliés à un MAA. Et les assureurs créent chaque année de nouveaux modèles d’assurance alternatifs, conjointement avec des médecins et d’autres prestataires de santé.

En quoi la liberté de choix est-elle limitée avec un MAA ?

Tous les modèles d’assurance alternatifs ont un point commun : en contrepartie d’un rabais sur leur prime, les assurés limitent la liberté qui leur est donnée de choisir un prestataire médical (médecins, hôpitaux, pharmacies, etc.) Pour que l’Office fédéral de la santé publique (OFSP) approuve cette remise, l’assurance est tenue de justifier les économies réalisées avec un MAA.

Pour la quasi-totalité des MAA, le début d’une consultation ou de soins marque le point de départ de la restriction en matière de liberté de choix. C’est ce que recouvre le terme « gatekeeping » : le modèle Telmed nécessite en premier lieu de se renseigner par téléphone ; le modèle du médecin de famille, d’aller chez son médecin de famille et le modèle HMO, de se rendre dans un centre médical. Quant au modèle des pharmacies, il exige de se procurer les médicaments prescrits dans une pharmacie ou une chaine de pharmacies donnée. Comme les patientes et les patients affiliés à un modèle d’assurance alternatif ne sont pas autorisés à consulter un spécialiste directement ou à aller aux urgences pour des cas bénins, les dépenses s’en trouvent réduites. De plus, la crise du coronavirus a permis à de nombreuses personnes de découvrir et d’apprécier les téléconsultations médicales car elles ne voulaient pas s’exposer à la maladie en se rendant dans des cabinets médicaux ou des hôpitaux.

Comparer les primes

Comment faire des économies avec un MAA ?

Les modèles d’assurance alternatifs permettent donc de dépenser moins sans toutefois devoir faire des concessions sur la qualité des prestations médicales. Au contraire, puisque, au-delà des simples missions de gatekeeping, la coordination de soins complexes basée sur des données évite aux patients d’avoir à multiplier les consultations, de rechercher à l’aveugle un médecin ou un hôpital adapté et, bien souvent, de subir des opérations superflues, voire dommageables. À titre d’illustration, voici deux exemples :

  • En étant affilié au MAA Multimed de la CSS, un assuré a le choix entre différents interlocuteurs auxquels s’adresser en premier lieu en cas de maladie. Parmi les options disponibles, les médecins de famille en réseau/cabinets de groupe ou la télémédecine. Cette offre est complétée par le conseiller numérique myGuide. Accessible en ligne, ce questionnaire dynamique s’adapte en fonction des réponses fournies et émet une recommandation quant à la nécessité de consulter un médecin ou non. Lorsqu’un client se voit remettre une ordonnance permanente pour ses médicaments, l’achat est effectué à une pharmacie par correspondance.

  • À compter du 1er janvier 2021, Assura proposera le MAA Qualimed, lequel fonctionnera à 90 % selon les mêmes principes que les modèles classiques du médecin de famille ou de télémédecine. Si le médecin de famille ou le centre de télémédecine estime qu’un traitement par un ou une spécialiste en cardiologie, orthopédie, urologie ou gastroentérologie est nécessaire, le ou la patiente s’adresse alors à l’entreprise Better Doc sise à Bâle. En tenant compte du rapport médical établi par le médecin de famille et de données relatives à la qualité (p. ex. formation, satisfaction des patients, spécialisation dans son domaine), Better Doc lui propose trois médecins spécialisés les mieux adaptés à sa situation, parmi lesquels il peut alors sélectionner un praticien. Le corps médical suisse monte au créneau contre l’entreprise Better Doc. L’avenir est pourtant à l’utilisation des données dans le but d’émettre des recommandations sur la nécessité d’une consultation ou d’un traitement ; en effet, les recommandations de ce type sont plus pertinentes que celles du médecin de famille qui, pour une opération, conseille le chirurgien avec qui il a fait ses études.
  • Auteur

    Felix Schneuwly

    Expert Assurance maladie et Santé

    media@comparis.ch

    Articles similaires

    Haut de page

    Newsletter

    Restez informés avec les bons plans et les conseils d'experts en matière de santé, d'argent et d'impôts.

    En m'abonnant à la newsletter, j'accepte le traitement de mes données conformément à la Déclaration de protection des données de comparis.ch

    comparis.ch
    • A propos de Comparis.ch

    • Médias

    • Offres d'emploi

    Réseaux sociaux
    Langue
    • DE
    • FR
    • IT
    • EN
    • Contact
    • Confidentialité
    • Juridique
    • La Rédaction

    © 1996–2020 comparis.ch SA, Birmensdorferstrasse 108, 8003 Zurich, +41 44 360 52 62