Comparis
Newsletter
en

Insurance

Cars & motorcycles

Property

Loans & mortgages

Price comparison

Healthcare & pensions

Other services

Comparis

Menu

InsuranceHealth insuranceGlossary
Health insurance

Glasses and contact lenses

How much does basic insurance pay?

  • Since 2011, adults no longer receive a contribution towards their glasses or contact lenses through their basic mandatory insurance. Basic insurance offers 180 francs per eye once a year but only if the condition has a medical cause, such as diabetes, opacity of lens, eye muscle disorders, lazy eye, medication use or eye operations (e.g. for glaucoma).
  • Basic insurance still makes a contribution for children. It will cover 180 francs of the cost of glasses per calendar year. This applies until the child's 18th birthday. If this cover isn't enough, you can take out an appropriate supplemental insurance policy.

How much does supplemental insurance pay?

  • If you don't want to pay for your glasses and other optical aids yourself, you can take out an appropriate supplemental insurance policy. This is available for less than ten francs per month.
  • Some policies will even pay out up to 1,000 francs for laser eye treatment.
  • However, as a rule, it is not worth taking out this kind of comprehensive package simply to get a contribution for your glasses or contact lenses, especially considering that the annual cover is usually limited to 150 to 200 francs.
  • Example: The monthly premium for supplemental insurance is 10 francs, which is 120 francs per year. For a pair of glasses, the insurance company would pay 150 francs per year (note that this contribution cannot be cumulated over the years). If you choose a cheap pair of glasses, costing around 200 francs, you would have paid 120 francs in premiums and saved just 30 francs (150-120=30) on your purchase.

 

Whether basic or supplemental insurance...

...find the health insurer that's best for you
Compare now

Back to top

Newsletter

Stay up-to-date with the latest savings deals as well as expert tips on health, money and tax.

By registering, I agree to my data being processed in accordance with the data privacy statement of comparis.ch.

comparis.ch
  • About Comparis

Social Media
Language
  • DE
  • FR
  • IT
  • EN
  • Contact
  • Data privacy protection
  • Legal information
  • Credits

© 1996–2019 comparis.ch AG, Birmensdorferstrasse 108, 8003 Zurich, +41 44 360 52 62

Comparis
Newsletter
fr

Assurances

Auto & moto

Immobilier

Crédit & hypothèques

Comparateur de prix

Santé & prévoyance

Autres services

Comparis

Menu

AssurancesAssurance maladieGlossaire
Assurance maladie

Lunettes et lentilles de contact

Que rembourse l’assurance de base ?

  • Les adultes n’obtiennent plus de contribution de l’assurance de base obligatoire pour les aides visuelles depuis 2011. En effet, l’assurance de base intervient uniquement pour les cas médicaux liés au diabète, à une opacification du cristallin, à des troubles musculaires de l’œil, à une amblyopie, à la prise de médicaments ou à une chirurgie oculaire, comme celle du glaucome et ce, à hauteur de 180 francs par an et par œil.
  • Les enfants, en revanche, sont toujours couverts par l’assurance de base : elle participe avec 180 francs par année civile aux frais de lunettes. Et ce, jusqu’aux 18 ans révolus de l’enfant. Si l’étendue de cette couverture ne devait suffire, il est possible de souscrire une assurance complémentaire à cet effet.

Que rembourse l’assurance complémentaire ?

  • Celles et ceux qui ne veulent pas mettre la main à la poche pour leurs lunettes ou autres aides visuelles ont la possibilité de souscrire une assurance complémentaire proposant ce type de couverture. On en trouve dès moins de dix francs par mois.
  • Certains produits couvrent même le traitement oculaire au laser avec jusqu’à 1000 francs remboursés.
  • Cela dit, souscrire une assurance complémentaire avec un paquet de prestations aussi complet uniquement pour la prise en charge des aides visuelles n’est souvent pas intéressant, car la contribution est le plus souvent limitée entre 150 et 200 francs par an.
  • Un exemple : la prime mensuelle pour l’assurance complémentaire est de 10 francs, soit une cotisation annuelle de 120 francs. L'assurance verserait 150 francs par an pour la monture (attention : la participation aux coûts n’est pas cumulable d’une année à l’autre). En achetant des lunettes pas chères, pour environ 200 francs, l'assuré payerait 120 francs de primes pour y gagner tout juste 30 francs à l'achat (150 - 120 = 30).

Assurance maladie de base ou complémentaire

Trouvez la caisse optimale
Comparez