Health and prevention

Organ donation – could the opt-out system soon apply in Switzerland?

STUDY
|
Organ donation – yes or no? You decide what happens to your organs after you die. Source: iStock.com / DieterMeyrl

In Switzerland, around 100 people die each year because of a lack of organ donors. It doesn’t have to be this way. comparis.ch shares some key insights on the topic.  

There are currently around 1,400 people in Switzerland waiting for a new organ. But too few organ donors means that some 100 people die each year in this country. It doesn’t have to be this way. A representative survey conducted by Market Agent on behalf of comparis.ch shows that in principle, Swiss people are open to the idea of organ donation. 60 per cent of those surveyed felt that even those without a donor card should be considered for organ donation.

63 per cent of respondents in the German-speaking and French-speaking parts of Switzerland would even be in favour of a constitutional amendment that would require people to explicitly opt out of organ donation. Doctors could then routinely remove organs from deceased persons without having to make further enquiries.

Opt-out system in place in various European countries

The Junior Chamber International (JCI) launched the federal popular initiative “Promote organ donation – save lives” to achieve precisely that. A collection of signatures is currently under way. The aim of the initiative is to change the Swiss Federal Constitution. Under the so-called “opt-out system”, every adult would become a potential donor in the event of their death, unless they have expressly opted out while still alive by having their names entered in an official register. Based on “presumed consent”, this system is already in place in various European countries, such as Austria, France, Italy, Spain, Portugal and Belgium.

Relatives do not consent in 60 per cent of cases

Currently, potential organ donors in Switzerland must have a donor card, or they must have expressed their consent to organ removal in the event of death to their relatives while still alive. You can order a donor card from Swisstransplant – the Swiss National Foundation for Organ Donation and Transplantation. You can receive it by post or download it via app to your smartphone.

According to our survey, only 30 per cent of respondents have a donor card. This means that for the remaining 70 per cent, relatives must make a decision on organ removal. Although 75 per cent of respondents think this approach is a good one, this principle has proved disadvantageous in practice. According to Swisstransplant, relatives do not consent to organ removal in over 60 per cent of cases. The reason for this is that they do not know the wishes of the deceased and are afraid to go against them by consenting.

State of health key to organ donation

Anyone of any age can be considered for organ donation – as long as the person is in a good state of health and the relevant organs are functioning well. Children can also be organ donors. Their organs are usually donated to other children. Newborns up to the age of 28 days are not eligible for organ donation for ethical and medical reasons.

A donor must also have been free of tumours for five years – anyone with current active cancer may not become an organ donor. People with a prion disease (e.g. Creutzfeld-Jakob disease) or untreatable sepsis are not eligible either. Organs from HIV-positive donors may only be transplanted in HIV-positive recipients.

Type of organ donation determines what is transplanted

In Switzerland, a distinction is made between three types of organ donation:  

  • Donation following circulatory death
  • Donation following brain death
  • Living donation

In Switzerland, brain death is a condition for a donation after death. Brain death is considered the unequivocal end of life – the brain is completely and irreversibly damaged. Circulatory death is when a person cannot be resuscitated after a cardiac arrest despite several attempts. Circulatory death inevitably leads to brain death. After a circulatory death, all organs can be removed from the donor, apart from the heart. Living donors can donate their kidneys, a part of the liver and blood stem cells. This type of donation usually occurs within a family.

What can be donated

Swisstransplant has compiled a list of organs, tissue and cells that can be donated. They include:

  • Amniotic membrane
  • Cornea
  • Pancreas
  • Blood vessels
  • Small intestine
  • Skin
  • Heart
  • Heart valves
  • Bones and cartilage
  • Liver
  • Lung
  • Kidneys

Swisstransplant also coordinates the allocation of organs for the whole of Switzerland and maintains a central waiting list. Organs are allocated based on urgency and medical benefits as well as position on the waiting list.

“Opt-out system an incentive to reflect”

“The opt-out system provides an incentive for all of us to reflect on the subject of organ donation, and to make a decision for or against,” says Comparis health expert Felix Schneuwly. “Anyone who misinterprets it as a breach of personal autonomy or even forced organ donation should refrain from accepting a donated organ in order to save their own life.” 

Update from October 2018: new online register created by the Swisstransplant foundation

On 1 October 2018, Swisstransplant published the National Organ Donor Register – a digital replacement for the donor card. Are you a resident of Switzerland or Liechtenstein and over 16 years of age? If so, you can register online. There, you can state whether or not you would like to donate organs, and whether they can be used for research. You can also delegate the decision to a trusted person. The following also applies to the online register:

  • Your entry can be changed at any time.
  • Medical staff at the hospital can only access your data when further treatment is considered futile and any current treatment is to be stopped.
  • Until this point, the Swisstransplant foundation will keep your data safely under lock and key.

Organ donation – yes or no?

This is a question that should be given due consideration. There are good reasons for discussing the issue with your family or close friends:

  • For your sake:

    You decide what happens to your body.

  • For the sake of your family:

    Share your thoughts and decisions with your nearest and dearest. They should be informed of your wishes so that they can act in your interests if and when the need arises.

  • For the sake of life:

    Many people in Switzerland are awaiting an organ transplant. Becoming a donor can save someone's life.

To find out more about organ donation, visit the Swisstransplant website or Leben-ist-Teilen (pdf available in English), where you will find more in-depth information about donating, donor cards and so on.

Santé et prévention

Don d’organes : si vous y êtes opposé, vous pourriez à l'avenir devoir le communiquer clairement

ÉTUDES
|
Don d’organes : oui ou non ? Décidez vous seul de qu’il adviendra de vos organes après votre mort. Photo : iStock.com / DieterMeyrl

En Suisse, environ 100 personnes décèdent chaque année faute de donneurs d’organes. Mais cela n’est pas une fatalité. Comparis vous dit ce qu’il faut savoir sur le sujet.  

Aujourd’hui en Suisse, environ 1400 personnes sont en attente d’un organe. Mais faute de donneurs, environ 100 personnes décèdent chaque année dans notre pays. Cela n’est pourtant pas une fatalité. Selon une enquête représentative menée par Market Agent pour le compte de comparis.ch, les Suisses sont en principe ouverts sur la question du don d’organes. 60 % des personnes interrogées estiment que les titulaires d’une carte de donneur ne devraient pas être les seuls à être pris en compte pour un don d’organes.

63 % des Suisses allemands et romands seraient même favorables à une modification de la constitution qui demande que le refus du don d’organes soit formulé de manière explicite. Dans ce cas, les médecins pourraient prélever des organes sur une personne décédée sans autre consultation préalable.

Le régime du refus pratiqué dans plusieurs pays d’Europe

La Jeune Chambre Internationale (JCI) a lancé l’initiative populaire fédérale « Sauver des vies en favorisant le don d’organes » qui demande précisément cela. Le projet est en phase de collecte de signatures. L’initiative vise une modification de la Constitution fédérale : dans le système appelé « régime du refus », tout adulte est considéré comme un donneur potentiel en cas de décès – sauf s’il a exprimé son refus de son vivant en s’inscrivant à un registre officiel. Ce principe de « consentement présumé » existe déjà dans plusieurs pays d’Europe, comme l’Autriche, la France, l’Italie, l’Espagne, le Portugal et la Belgique.

Les proches refusent dans plus de 60 % des cas

Aujourd’hui, en Suisse, les donneurs d’organes potentiels doivent détenir une carte de donneur. Ou bien, ils doivent préalablement avoir fait part de leur accord concernant le prélèvement d’organes en cas de décès à leurs proches, de leur vivant. Vous pouvez remplir la carte de donneur d’organes en ligne ou la commander par courrier auprès de Swisstransplant, la Fondation nationale suisse pour le don et la transplantation d’organes. Vous pouvez également télécharger la carte de donneur d’organes sur votre smartphone.

Selon notre enquête, seulement 30 % des personnes interrogées détiennent une carte de donneur d’organes. En d'autres termes, pour les 70 % de personnes restantes, le choix du prélèvement d’organes incombe aux proches. En principe, 75 % des personnes interrogées pensent qu’il s’agit d’un bon procédé. Mais dans la pratique, ce principe est préjudiciable : selon la Fondation nationale suisse pour le don et la transplantation d’organes, Swisstransplant, les proches refusent le prélèvement d’organes dans 60 % des cas. Explication : ils ne connaissent pas la volonté du défunt et craignent de mal faire en donnant leur accord.

L’état de santé est déterminant pour le don d’organes

En principe, toute personne, indépendamment de son âge, peut être prise en compte pour un don d’organes. Ce qui importe, c’est l’état de santé et le bon fonctionnement des organes concernés. Les enfants, également, peuvent être pris en compte comme donneurs. Leur organes sont alors principalement destinés à des enfants. En revanche, aucun organe n'est prélevé sur les nouveaux-nés de 28 jours ou moins pour des considérations éthiques et médicales.

Un donneur ayant eu une tumeur doit par ailleurs être en rémission depuis au moins cinq ans. En d’autres termes, les personnes souffrant actuellement d’un cancer ne peuvent être donneuses. Idem pour les personnes atteintes d’une maladie à prions (p. ex. Creutzfeldt-Jakob) ou toute autre septicémie incurable. Les organes de donneurs séropositifs ne sont transférés qu’à des receveurs également séropositifs.

Le type d’organes transplantés dépend de la forme du don

En Suisse, on distingue trois formes de don d’organes :  

  • Donneur décédé après un arrêt cardiaque
  • Donneur en état de mort cérébrale
  • Donneur de son vivant

En Suisse, l’état de mort cérébrale constitue une condition pour le don d’organes post-mortem (don après la mort). En effet, la mort cérébrale est considérée comme une fin de vie clairement établie – le cerveau est entièrement endommagé et ce, de manière irréversible. La mort après arrêt cardiaque survient lorsque lorsque le cœur reste arrêté malgré toutes les tentatives de réanimation effectuées. La mort après arrêt cardiaque mène irrémédiablement à la mort cérébrale. Chez les donneurs après arrêt cardiaque, tous les organes peuvent être prélevés – sauf le cœur. Les donneurs de leur vivant peuvent faire don d’un rein, d’une partie de leur foie ou de cellules souches contenues dans le sang. Ce type de don a généralement lieu au sein d’une famille.

Types de dons possibles

Swisstransplant tient une liste d’organes, de tissus et de cellules pouvant être transplantés. Dont, notamment :

  • Amnios
  • Cornée
  • Pancréas
  • Vaisseaux sanguins
  • Intestin grêle
  • Peau
  • Cœur
  • Valves cardiaques
  • Os et cartilage
  • Foie
  • Poumons
  • Reins

Swisstransplant gère par ailleurs l’attribution des organes dans toute la Suisse et gère une liste d'attente centrale. Outre l’inscription sur liste d'attente, l’attribution des dons dépend de l’urgence médicale et de l'efficacité médicale.

« Le régime du refus, une incitation à la réflexion »

« Le régime du refus est pour chacun d’entre nous une incitation à réfléchir au don d’organes et à se décider pour ou contre », estime l’expert Assurance maladie chez Comparis, Felix Schneuwly. « Les personnes qui considèrent cela à tort comme une tutelle ou un don d’organes forcé devraient renoncer à ce que leur propre vie ne puisse un jour être sauvée avec l’organe d’un autre. » 

Actualité – octobre 2018 : nouveau registre en ligne de la fondation Swisstransplant

Le 1er octobre 2018, Swisstransplant a publié le « Registre national du don d’organes », qui remplace la carte de donneur par la forme électronique. Vous résidez en Suisse ou au Liechtenstein et avez plus de 16 ans ? Dans ce cas, vous pouvez vous inscrire en ligne. Vous pourrez vous y exprimer pour ou contre le don de vos organes et si ces derniers peuvent servir aux fins de la recherche médicale. Autrement, vous pouvez faire part de votre décision à une personne de confiance. De plus, le registre en ligne respecte les règles suivantes :

  • Vous pouvez modifier votre décision à tout moment ;
  • Les tentatives de traitement ont échoué et l’arrêt du traitement a été fixé ? Dans ce cas uniquement, les spécialistes à l’hôpital auront accès à vos données.
  • Jusqu’à ce moment-là, la fondation Swisstransplant conservera vos données sans les dévoiler.

Don d’organes : oui ou non ?

Une question qui mérite considération pour chacun d’entre nous. Il y a de bonnes raisons d’en parler à sa famille et à ses amis proches :

  • Pour vous-mêmes :

    décidez vous-même de ce qu’il advient de votre corps.

  • Pour vos proches :

    faites part de vos réflexions et décisions aux personnes que vous aimez. Car ils doivent connaître votre position afin de pouvoir agir selon votre volonté au moment donné.

  • Pour la vie :

    en Suisse, de nombreuses personnes ont besoin d’un organe et sont en attente d’un donneur. Les personnes qui se décident pour le don d’organes peuvent sauver des vies.

Pour en savoir plus sur le don d’organes, les sites Swisstransplant  et Vivre-partager livrent de précieuses informations sur le don, la carte de donneur et Cie.

 

Ces articles pourraient également vous intéresser :
Produit générique ou médicament original ? Le comparateur de médicaments Comparis apporte des repères
Il y a générique et générique
Congé sabbatique : précautions pour votre parenthèse