Property search and moving

Your first home – costs, tips and useful insights

ANALYSIS
|
Moving into your first home is something special. Careful planning will ensure you don't blow the budget.

Finally moving into a place of your own is an unforgettable experience. But it’s important not to let your heart rule your head when it comes to property and the associated costs. There are many different factors affecting how much you can invest and how much the monthly outgoings will be. Comparis has produced a breakdown of the costs involved in getting your own place, and reminds you of what else to look out for.

All the costs at a glance

As a rule of thumb, the total cost of a rental apartment – including ancillary costs – should not exceed 25 to 30 per cent of your net income. That's why you are often advised not to budget more than a quarter of your net income for rental costs. This ensures that you have enough left over to cover other living expenses. The following table contains a breakdown of the costs you can expect to pay – divided into one-time and recurring expenses – based on an example apartment.

Example calculation for a 2-room apartment in Winterthur

 

One-time costs in CHF
Rental deposit 2,520.00
Furnishings Variable
Removal van Approx. 150.00/day

 

Recurring costs/month in CHF
Rent 840.00
Ancillary costs (heating, caretaker, etc.) 170.00
Electricity/water 60.00
Contents insurance 50.00
Billag fees 40.00
Internet & TV 79.00
Parking space/garage (if not included) 50.00
Fixed monthly costs for this apartment 1,289.00

These are example costs – actual costs may vary.

 

If you want to know what whether a rental price is fair, you can check out other rental prices in the area. Here you can find rents and sold property prices based on listings from the last 5 years – this will give you an insight as to what prices to expect on the market. Since tax rates also vary by location, it is advisable to put money aside to avoid a financial setback. You might also find it beneficial to compare taxes for the different areas.

On the hunt for an apartment

Once the budget is set, you can start thinking about the criteria your apartment should fulfil: comfortable, contemporary, the right size, convenient location, suitable price category, and so on. And if you're planning to stay in the apartment for the longer term, you could also consider factors like public transport connections, proximity to shops, leisure facilities and available parking spaces.

The quickest way to research the property market in Switzerland is to go online and scour the numerous property portals. Happily, you can do this in one place – the property search at comparis.ch gives you access to the 16 largest online property portals in one go.

One aspect to consider when choosing a municipality to live in is the tax rate. To gain an idea of how this could affect you financially, you can compare taxes here. You can also find out about social, cultural and leisure facilities on the cantonal and municipal websites. On the subject of municipalities, local administrative offices often keep up-to-date lists of available apartments as well. The property pages of local daily newspapers can also be a gold mine for property hunters. Similarly, it's worth keeping an eye on Facebook and other platforms because apartment ads are often posted there.

If you're short of time, one alternative is to instruct an estate agent to help with the search. But remember – if successful, Swiss estate agents usually charge commission amounting to one month's rent.

 

 

Viewing and applying for an apartment

Found your ideal home? Then it’s time to make a good impression. Arrive punctually for your appointment and adopt a friendly and respectful attitude to make sure you come across well.

After viewing the apartment, you will need to fill out an application form and return it with the debt collection record to the landlord. It is often useful to write an application letter as well, as interest in apartments can be very high – particularly in popular residential areas. For more on this topic and help with how to increase your chances of securing that dream home, see Tips on how to apply for an apartment.

Tenancy agreement, deposit and insurance

Finally, the apartment is yours. All you need now is the tenancy agreement, which the landlord will give you to sign. As well as your personal information, this document also includes details such as the rent, heating and ancillary costs, and parking space or garage fees. Check all the information carefully before signing.

The rental deposit is also usually mentioned in the tenancy agreement. Landlords usually charge between one and three months’ rent for the deposit, and the money must be paid into in a security deposit account in the tenant's name before the rental period begins. When you move out, if the landlord decides that you have incurred no damage to the apartment, the money will be released to you after a short period for you to use as you wish.

If your savings don't stretch to a rental deposit, there is always the option of insurance. Security deposit insurance involves paying annual premiums to an insurance company instead of depositing a large amount in a bank account. However, you must obtain the approval of the landlord before entering into such an arrangement.

On the subject of insurance – before you move in, it is imperative that you take out contents insurance to cover fire and water damage, burglary and vandalism. Make sure the sum insured corresponds to the actual value of your contents. The best thing to do is create an inventory of your entire home contents listing all the values. Premiums vary, so it’s worth obtaining quotes from different insurance companies. You should also think about taking out liability and legal protection insurance – the latter in case of disputes with the neighbours, which can and do occur.

 

 

Apartment handover and moving in

The apartment handover is the last step of the process before you can start unloading the van. Together with the landlord, you will draw up an inspection report, which is a form for recording any defects or problems with the property. This might include damage, discolouring or general wear to walls and floors, scratched kitchen cupboards and doors, and much more. Inspect the apartment carefully yourself before signing the report, as a similar report is produced again when you move out. If new damage is incurred during your tenancy, you may be billed for some of the costs.

The actual move is a challenge in itself. The aim is to organise vehicles and helpers and try not to forget anything – a detailed moving checklist is invaluable in this respect. So that everything can be organised on time, you should definitely start planning a few weeks before the moving date. You can also check out the Comparis article Top tips for a stress-free move to ensure your move goes according to plan!

Immo et déménagement

Le premier appart’ à soi : coûts, infos et conseils

ANALYSES
|
Le premier appartement à soi est un évènement. Une bonne préparation aide à maintenir son budget.

Investir ses propres quatre murs pour la première fois est une expérience inoubliable. Reste que ce n’est pas uniquement une question d’émotions mais aussi une question de coûts. Le montant de l’investissement et des dépenses mensuelles qu’on est en mesure de s’offrir dépend de facteurs individuels. Comparis vous résume ce que coûte un appartement à soi et ce à quoi il faut encore penser.

Tous les coûts en bref

La règle d’or veut que les coûts globaux d’un appartement locatif, charges inclus, ne dépassent pas les 25-30 % du revenu net. C’est pourquoi, en matière de budget, on conseille souvent de veiller à ce que le loyer ne dépasse pas un quart du revenu net. De cette manière, les autres dépenses du quotidien sont assurées. Nous vous listons ci-après les frais à prendre en compte, classés par dépenses uniques et dépenses régulières, à l’exemple d’un appartement modèle.

Exemple de calcul pour un appartement de 2 pièces à Winterthour

 

Coûts uniques en CHF
Dépôt de garantie 3810,00 (3 mois de loyer maximum)
Aménagement Individuel
Véhicule pour le déménagement Environ 150,00/jour

 

Coûts réguliers/mois en CHF
Loyer (charges excl.) 1100,00
Charges (chauffage, conciergerie, etc.) 170,00
Électricité/Eau 60,00
Assurance ménage 50,00
Redevances Billag 40,00
Internet & TV 79,00
Place de parking/garage (le cas échéant) 80,00
Frais fixes pour cet appartement 1579,00

Ces chiffres sont donnés à titre d’exemple et peuvent différer des frais effectifs.

 

Pour avoir une idée d’un montant correct pour un loyer, le mieux est de s’informer sur les prix pratiqués dans les environs. Vous trouverez ici les prix des biens à vendre ou à louer parmi les annonces des 5 dernières années – de quoi gagner une vue d’ensemble, qui aide à bien estimer les offres sur le marché. Selon le lieu de domicile, l’imposition peut varier – pour éviter des passes financières difficiles, il est conseillé de se constituer des réserves. Un comparatif d’impôt peut être utile.

À la recherche d’un logement

Une fois le budget défini, la chasse au logement est ouverte : il se doit d’être confortable, moderne, d’avoir la bonne superficie ; d’être bien situé et pas trop cher. Sans oublier la proximité/l'accessibilité des transports, de magasins, d’activités de loisir et la disponibilité de places de parc... tous ces critères à prendre en compte si l’appartement doit rester en accord avec la situation de vie pour plus longtemps.

Pour gagner rapidement un aperçu du marché immobilier suisse, il existe de nombreuses plate-formes immobilières sur Internet. Mais inutile de chercher partout : le moteur de recherche immobilière de comparis.ch rassemble les 16 plus grands portails immobiliers en ligne.

Pour choisir dans quelle commune habiter, un comparatif d’impôt peut s’avérer utile. Par ailleurs, les sites des cantons et communes permettent de voir la vie sociale et les possibilités de loisir sur place. En parlant de communes : les administrations communales tiennent souvent des listes de logements vacants. Parfois, on trouve son bonheur dans les rubriques immobilières des quotidiens locaux. Il peut aussi être utile de rester à l'affût sur Facebook et autres plateformes – on y trouve souvent des annonces d’appartements.

Pour gagner du temps, un agent immobilier chargé de la recherche peut être une alternative. Seulement, il faut avoir à l’esprit que les agents immobiliers suisses facturent en général une provision de l’ordre d’un mois de loyer en cas de mandat fructueux.

 

 

Visite d’appartement et candidature

Vous avez trouvé le logement de vos rêves ? Dans ce cas, le candidat se doit de faire bonne figure : Soyez à l’heure au rendez-vous et montrez-vous sérieux et courtois pour doner une bonne impression.

Après la visite, il convient de remplir un formulaire de candidature et de le retourner au bailleur, dûment complété et accompagné de l’extrait du registre des poursuites. Souvent, une lettre de motivation peut être utile, car il peut y avoir un grand nombre de personnes intéressées, particulièrement des les zones d’habitation prisées. Pour en savoir plus et augmenter vos chances d’obtenir l'appartement de vos rêves, lisez l'article Candidature pour un logement : conseils.

Contrat de bail, caution et assurance

Ça y est, vous avez remporté l’appartement ! Reste le contrat de bail, que le bailleur vous soumettra pour signature. Le contrat mentionne, outre les informations personnelles, le montant du loyer, les frais de chauffage et charges, les frais pour le parking ou le garage. Lisez attentivement tout ce qui est indiqué avant de signer.

Généralement, la caution figure aussi sur le bail. Le montant de cette garantie peut représenter entre un et trois mois de loyer et doit être viré avant le début du bail sur un compte bloqué dédié, inscrit au nom du locataire. Si vous quittez le logement et qu’aucune dégradation de votre part n'est constatée, la somme sera rapidement débloquée et vous pourrez à nouveau en disposer librement.

Dans le cas où vos économies ne suffiraient pas à verser la caution exigée, il reste toujours l’option ‘assurance’. En effet, avec une assurance caution de loyer, vous n’avez pas besoin de laisser de dépôt auprès d’une banque ; vous payez annuellement des frais à l’assurance. Cela dit, la conclusion d’une assurance caution de loyer requiert l’accord du bailleur.

À propos d'assurance : une assurance ménage couvre les dommages incendie, vol, effraction, dégâts d’eau et vandalisme et devrait absolument être souscrite au début du bail. Veillez toutefois à ce que le montant d'assurance corresponde réellement à la valeur de l’inventaire : le mieux est de dresser une liste de tous les objets du ménage avec la valeur respective de l’inventaire global. Comme les primes varient d’une compagnie d'assurance à l’autre, il est conseillé de demander des offres. Réfléchissez également à une assurance responsabilité civile et protection juridique, une protection qui peut être utile dans le cas pas si peu probable d’un litige avec un voisin.

 

 

Déménagement : la reprise d’un appartement

La remise des clés est la dernière étape avant l'arrivée du véhicule de déménagement avec les effets personnels. Avec le bailleur, un constat d’état des lieux est dressé, document qui relève tous les défauts observés – murs et sols abîmés, décolorés ou usés, rayures sur les placards de la cuisine et sur les portes, etc. Soyez vous-mêmes très attentif à d’éventuels défauts avant de signer l’état des lieux. Car ce genre de constat sera à nouveau dressé à votre sortie. Si des dommages sont survenus au cours de votre bail, vous pouvez être mis à contribution des frais.

Déménager n’est pas une sinécure. Il faut organiser les véhicules et des personnes pour aider, ne rien oublier – une check-list détaillée est indispensable. Pour que tout soit prévu en temps et en heure, le déménagement doit être organisé quelques semaines avant le jour J. Les conseils pratiques pour le déménagement de Comparis vous aident à passer sereinement cette grande journée.