Home ownership

Selling your property: should you draw up the selling file yourself or not?

INFORMATION
|
Mission accomplished: a good sale is something all property owners looking to sell their house or apartment are keen to achieve. Source: iStock

How can I describe my house accurately and concisely? Which photos will show its best side? And what price should I set for it?

These are just a few of the many questions that come up in relation to selling a property. A central factor in all of this is the selling file: after all, if you can manage to whet the potential buyer’s appetite, he or she may well be prepared to pay more. Which is why it is worthwhile investing in a professional dossier.

What belongs in a full selling file?

If you present your property well, you will often be able to sell it for a higher price. For that reason, sales documentation should include the following elements:

  • Details of the seller (name, address and contact details)
  • Brief outline of the property being sold (e.g. number of rooms and floors, areas, year of construction)
  • Sales conditions (e.g. price, availability)
  • Detailed description of the property being sold (e.g. breakdown of apartment, room sizes, special features such as chimneys and patios, general environment)
  • The facilities that come with the property (e.g. lift, parking space, garage)
  • Plans (construction, site, floor, zone and land register plans)
  • Current, professional photos of the rooms, the property from the outside and the environment
  • An extract from the land register (copy)
  • Proof of buildings insurance (copy)

 

Do not underestimate the work involved

The more professional-looking the selling file, the stronger are the seller’s arguments vis-à-vis the buyer. Numerous templates are available on the Internet for people who want to create the file themselves. It is important to bear in mind that the wording of the synopsis should be objective and neutral and not too “salesmanlike”.

The problem, however, is twofold: not only does putting together the various documents involve a substantial amount of work; it also poses a certain risk, such as that of getting the price calculation wrong. “A property cannot be offered on the market numerous times at different prices. If that happened, it would be marketed to death and would ultimately go to the next owner for far too little,” says Michael Kohlas, Real Estate Expert from comparis.ch.

A further consideration is that potential buyers have to be looked after, any doubts they have must be dispelled and they must also be checked to ensure that they genuinely have the funds required to buy the property. Price negotiations are not everyone’s cup of tea, either. 

Professional support with the contract

If you have entrusted the task of selling your property to an estate agent, you don’t have to worry about compiling the dossier as this service is included in the sales commission of any serious estate agent. That said, it is still advisable to perform a final check on the agent’s dossier to make sure that it really does contain all the required documents and that the text reads well and is free of errors.

Estate agents also take care of advertisements and represent the seller’s interests when it comes to drawing up the sales contract. But what would a service like this cost?

Estate agents: often a worthwhile expense

Depending on the region and the type of property being sold, estate agents generally cost between one and five per cent of the sales price. With a few pieces of information about the property, estate agents can produce an initial estimate and take care of the complicated sales process with the goal of generating optimal proceeds from the house or apartment.

Propriété

Vendre un bien immobilier : monter son dossier soi-même ?

INFO
|
Conclure la vente de son bien : l’objectif de tout propriétaire désirant se séparer de son appartement ou de sa maison. Photo : iStock

Comment faire une description juste, concise et percutante de ma maison ? Quelles photos la mettent en valeur ? Et quel prix proposer ?

Beaucoup de questions se posent à la vente de son bien. Le dossier de vente en est la pièce maîtresse. En effet, un acquéreur potentiel sera prêt à payer plus pour quelque chose qui lui est présenté de façon séduisante. Les avantages d’investir dans un dossier professionnel.

Le dossier de vente complet : ce qui doit y figurer

Le propriétaire en mesure de présenter son bien sous un jour avantageux finira par le vendre à meilleur prix. Un dossier de vente devrait donc contenir les éléments suivants :

  • Informations sur le vendeur (nom, adresse, coordonnées)
  • Description succincte du bien à vendre (p. ex. nombre de pièces et étage, superficie, année de construction)
  • Conditions de vente (prix, disponibilité, etc.)
  • Description plus détaillée du bien à vendre (p. ex. agencement et taille des pièces, particularités telles qu’une cheminée ou une terrasse, aménagement à proximité)
  • Équipement du bien (p. ex. ascenseur, place de parking, garage)
  • Plans (plans de la construction et de la situation, plan du bien, plans de zones et de cadastre)
  • Photos récentes et professionnelles des pièces, du bien à vendre et de l’environnement
  • Extrait du livre foncier (copie)
  • Justificatif de l’assurance bâtiment (copie)

 

Ne pas sous-estimer ce que cela représente

Plus le dossier semble professionnel, meilleurs seront vos arguments de vente face à l'acquéreur. Celles et ceux qui souhaitent le constituer par eux-mêmes trouveront quantité de modèles sur Internet. Le style de la présentation devra toutefois être neutre/objectif et les formules pas trop vendeuses.

Rassembler tous les documents nécessaires représente toutefois une charge de travail considérable, sans oublier le risque de présenter le dossier avec un prix mal calculé. « Un bien ne peut pas être proposé à un prix changeant sans arrêt. Cela reviendrait à une commercialisation à outrance et le bien finirait entre les mains du nouveau propriétaire à un prix bradé », explique Michael Kohlas, expert Immobilier chez comparis.ch

Il est également important de prendre en charge les acheteurs potentiels, d’écarter leurs craintes éventuelles et de vérifier qu’ils détiennent bien les ressources nécessaires pour l'achat du bien. Et négocier le prix n’est pas non plus donné à tout le monde. 

Appui professionnel en matière de contrat

Les propriétaires qui ont délégué la vente de leur bien à un agent immobilier n’ont pas à se soucier du dossier à monter : cela est inclus dans la commission d'un agent immobilier sérieux. Il est néanmoins conseillé de jeter un dernier œil au dossier que le professionnel a élaboré et de vérifier que tous les documents nécessaires y figurent bien, que le texte se lit de manière fluide et qu’il n’y a pas de fautes d’orthographe.

Un agent immobilier se charge par ailleurs de passer les annonces et représente les intérêts du vendeur au moment de la rédaction du contrat de vente. Mais que coûte un tel service ?

Agent immobilier : un prix avec une contrepartie

Les coûts d'un agent immobilier s'élèvent, selon les régions et l’objet à vendre, entre 1 et 5 % du prix de vente environ. Partant de quelques informations sur le bien, il saura donner une première estimation et mener le processus complexe de vente avec le but d’obtenir le gain optimal pour l’appartement ou la maison.