Significant change in benchmark rates for 10-year fixes

The Comparis Mortgage Barometer for the 4th quarter of 2018


Some benchmark interest rates for fixed-rate mortgages dropped significantly in the fourth quarter of 2018. Ten-year fixes witnessed the biggest decrease. Demand for short-term mortgages is surprisingly high. This is revealed by the Mortgage Barometer from comparis.ch.

In the fourth quarter of 2018, benchmark rates for ten-year fixed-rate mortgages were 1.46% on average. This represents a significant decrease of 16 basis points compared to the third quarter. Rates for long-term mortgages have thus now returned to the level recorded at the end of 2017.

Data from Comparis partner service HypoPlus shows that customers with an excellent credit standing were able to take out ten-year fixed-rate mortgages at a rate of 0.99%. Such low rates have not been achieved for at least two years.

Lowest rate for medium-term mortgages

Following a slight increase in the benchmark rates for five-year mortgages to 1.13% in the previous quarter, they fell again in the fourth quarter of 2018. At 1.04%, these interest rates have returned to the all-time low they achieved in 2017. Interest rates for short repayment terms decreased by one basis point to 0.95%.

 

But how do these rate changes affect you? Calculate your personal interest rate now!


Renewed demand for short terms

The drop in demand for fixed-rate mortgages with long terms identified in the third quarter was less pronounced in the final quarter of 2018. With a share of some 78%, this type of mortgage remains the most popular. After rising appreciably to almost 18% in the third quarter, the proportion of demand for medium-term mortgages fell to 17.4%.

The lower demand for long-term and medium-term mortgages has worked in favour of short-term mortgages (1 to 3 years), whose share rose considerably from 3.6% to 4.8%.

“In our view, the marked increase in demand for short-term mortgages comes as a result of a slower rise in key interest rates,” explains Comparis financial expert Frédéric Papp, adding that the macro-economic climate had become increasingly volatile during the course of the past year. “We expect the issuing banks to be less hasty in raising interest rates than we originally thought,” says Papp.

Although short-term mortgages are attractive at the moment because of their low interest rates – averaging 0.95% – Papp feels that borrowers opting for these terms run the risk of paying higher rates when they have to renew their mortgages in three years at the latest.

 

Rates have probably hit rock bottom

Until mid-October, benchmark rates for fixed-rate mortgages were on the rise. The average rate for a ten-year fix was 1.67% at that time. Since then, rates for all repayment terms have been decreasing again. According to Papp, one reason for the rate adjustment in the fourth quarter of 2018 is the downward revision of economic growth forecasts for 2018 and 2019 in Switzerland and the European Union.

He believes that the constant rise and fall of mortgage rates is set to continue. “There are currently many economic and political uncertainties influencing the financial markets,” says Papp. Forecasts by the World Bank indicate that the economy is cooling in all major economic regions.

According to Comparis, despite adverse political and economic circumstances, interest rates may well be as low as they can go. “The likelihood of interest rates going up is greater than another significant downwards adjustment,” says Papp. “Anyone about to take out a mortgage should therefore think very carefully about their own attitude to risk,” recommends the expert. Given these premises, risk-averse borrowers would be in the perfect position to lock in these rates for a long period. 

 

Data sources

Interest rate information is based on the benchmark rates of over 50 lenders. They are updated daily and published in the mortgage rate overview. The requested terms were determined based on the mortgage applications submitted by potential borrowers following an independent consultation with HypoPlus, a partner service of comparis.ch. Experience shows that interest rates offered in mortgage quotes are usually below the official benchmark rates. The next Mortgage Barometer will appear in the middle of April 2019. 


Request a personal quote

HypoPlus, a partner service of comparis.ch, compares all lenders and finds the best deal for you.

Request quotes


This might also interest you:

Net mouvement des taux indicatifs pour les hypothèques à taux fixe sur dix ans

Baromètre des Hypothèques Comparis – 4e trimestre 2018


Les taux indicatifs des hypothèques à taux fixe ont connu, pour partie, des reculs significatifs au cours du 4e trimestre 2018. Les baisses les plus marquées ont été enregistrées pour les hypothèques à taux fixe sur dix ans. La demande a été étonnamment forte pour les hypothèques à court terme. Tels sont les résultats du Baromètre des Hypothèques de comparis.ch.

Les taux indicatifs des hypothèques à taux fixe sur 10 ans s’élevaient à 1,46 % au quatrième trimestre 2018, soit quelque 16 points de base de moins qu’au troisième trimestre, plaçant ainsi les hypothèques à long terme au niveau de fin 2017.

Les données de HypoPlus, un service partenaire de Comparis, montrent que les clients disposant d’une excellente solvabilité peuvent souscrire une hypothèque fixe sur dix ans à un taux de 0,99 %, un niveau que l’on rencontrait pour la dernière fois il y a un peu plus de deux ans.

Plus bas record pour les hypothèques à moyen terme

Après que les taux indicatifs pour les hypothèques sur cinq ans ont enregistré une légère remontée à 1,13 % au cours du trimestre précédent, la tendance s'est retournée à la baisse au quatrième trimestre 2018. S’établissant à 1,04 %, les taux renouent ainsi avec le plus bas record de l’année 2017. Avec un point de base en moins, les taux des échéances à court terme se situent, quant à eux, à 0,95 %.

 

 

Que signifient les taux indicatifs pour vous ? Calculez dès maintenant le taux que vous pourriez obtenir !

Calcul des taux

La demande pour les échéances courtes à nouveau en recrudescence

La baisse des demandes observée au troisième trimestre pour les hypothèques fixes à échéances longues a perdu de la vitesse au cours du dernier trimestre 2018. Avec une part de 78 % environ, elles restent le choix privilégié. Après la forte augmentation sur les hypothèques à moyen terme au cours du troisième trimestre à près de 18 %, leur part vient se placer à 17,4 %.

La baisse de la demande enregistrée sur les hypothèques à long et à moyen terme a eu une répercussion favorable sur les hypothèques à échéances courtes (de un à trois ans). Leur part a accusé une nette augmentation, passant de 3,6 % à 4,8 %.

« Pour nous, la montée significative de la demande en ce qui concerne les hypothèques à échéances courtes s’explique par le ralentissement de la hausse des taux directeurs », explique Frédéric Papp, expert Argent chez Comparis, notant que la volatilité du climat macroéconomique s’est renforcée au cours de l’année passée. « On peut s’attendre à ce que la remontée des taux par les banques centrales soit opérée moins vite que prévu, » déclare-t-il.

Actuellement, les échéances courtes, avec 0,95 %, sont certes attrayantes, mais les emprunteurs courent le risque de devoir payer des taux plus élevés au moment du refinancement, c'est à dire au plus tard dans trois ans, quand l’hypothèque sera arrivée à échéance.

 

Les taux ont atteint un niveau plancher

Jusqu’à la mi-octobre 2018, les taux indicatifs des hypothèques fixes avaient connu une embellie. Sur les échéances à dix ans, les moyennes se situaient alors à 1,67 %. Depuis, les taux sont en baisse pour toutes les échéances. Selon F. Papp, ce réajustement au cours du quatrième trimestre 2018 est notamment dû à une croissance économique revue à la baisse en Suisse et dans l’Union européenne pour 2018 et 2019.

Il estime que le ballet incessant des hausses et des baisses de taux devrait poursuivre sur sa lancée, faisant remarquer que « Pour l’heure, de nombreuses incertitudes économiques et politiques régissent les marchés financiers ». Les prévisions de la banque mondiale tablent sur un refroidissement de la conjoncture dans toutes les grandes zones économiques.

Malgré les difficultés existant sur le plan politique et économique, les taux semblent toutefois avoir atteint un niveau plancher de l'avis de Comparis. « La probabilité que les taux remontent est plus élevée que celle d’une nouvelle baisse », déclare F. Papp. « Pour un emprunteur, souscrire une hypothèque actuellement signifie donc aussi connaître son propre tempérament face à la prise de risques », recommande l'expert, ajoutant que la situation actuelle offre des conditions intéressantes pour les emprunteurs au profil conservateur souhaitant s’assurer un niveau de taux sur le long terme.


Origine des données
Les données relatives aux taux d'intérêt s'appuient sur les taux indicatifs de plus de 50 établissements de prêt, lesquels sont actualisés quotidiennement et publiés dans l’aperçu des taux. L'expérience montre que, dans la plupart des cas, les taux indiqués dans les offres d’hypothèques sont inférieurs aux taux indicatifs officiels. L'analyse a porté, pour les différentes échéances recherchées, sur les demandes de financement soumises par des personnes ayant obtenu un conseil indépendant auprès de HypoPlus, un service partenaire de comparis.ch. comparis.ch est le plus grand portail immobilier de Suisse. Le prochain Baromètre des Hypothèques paraîtra mi-avril 2019.


Demandez une offre personnelle

HypoPlus, un service partenaire de comparis.ch, compare tous les prestataires et vous recherche la meilleure offre.

Demande d'offre


Cela pourrait aussi vous intéresser :