Questions about Spitex and care services

  • What is Spitex and how does it work?

    Spitex is not a protected term. It is derived from the German “spital-extern” and refers to services provided outside the hospital, such as home care and day-to-day help and support. There are 577 public Spitex organizations, 289 private ones and 1,015 self-employed nursing professionals (Federal Statistical Office, as at 2017, in German and French only) in Switzerland, which are recognized by health insurers. They promote, support and enable living at home for people of all age groups who depend on help to do so.

    Spitex for children provides intensive, all-round care and support for seriously ill, disabled or dying children at home, and is offered by only few care providers. The cost of services covered by basic health insurance is paid for by the child's basic insurance.

  • What is the difference between a private and public Spitex organization?

    As a rule, public organizations have an obligation to provide care for the municipality or canton and are therefore obliged to accept all assignments, even if it is not cost-effective to do so. Private organizations have no obligation to provide care. They can define minimum assignment hours and turn down requests for care services.

    Both public and private Spitex providers require a cantonal operating licence, for which they must fulfil certain criteria in relation to staff and service range, and can therefore bill health insurers for their services.

    At comparis.ch, public organizations are described as providers "with a service contract" and private organizations as "private organizations".

  • Are Spitex services covered by (basic) health insurance?

    The health insurer only pays for services that are prescribed by a doctor, listed in the Health Insurance Benefits Ordinance (KLV) and provided by the qualified personnel of approved Spitex providers.

    The services covered by the health insurer are split into three categories: a) needs assessment / advice / coordination (e.g. with the doctor and relatives); b) examination and medical treatment (e.g. preparing and administering medication) and c) basic care (e.g. showering / bathing / washing, dressing and undressing, eating and drinking, going to the toilet, getting up / lying down / walking or dental care). The costs are covered by compulsory basic insurance minus the annual deductible and the coinsurance. More information can be found in the care cost calculator.

    Services not covered by health insurance are day-to-day help and support, such as shopping, preparing meals, cleaning, washing, ironing, etc. Certain tasks can be covered by a private supplemental insurance policy. Under certain circumstances, supplementary benefits and/or helplessness allowances may also be applied for.

  • How much do home care and support services cost?

    The rates for home care services are uniformly set by the federal government; the rates for support services are not, which is why they vary. It is worthwhile comparing the various providers and their services. The rates are usually published on the website of the respective provider. Support from relatives may also be an option.

  • Who pays for Spitex care and support?

    The costs for prescribed home care services are paid by three parties: the health insurer (54.60, 65.40 or 79.80 francs per hour), the Spitex clients (maximum 15.95 francs per day) and the public authorities (canton or municipality). The amount to be paid by the Spitex clients themselves depends on the canton, the chosen deductible and the age (younger or older than 18 years) and can be calculated using the care cost calculator.

    The costs for support services and domestic help must be borne by the clients themselves, but contributions may be received through supplemental insurance, helplessness allowances and/or supplementary benefits.

  • Am I entitled to financial support?

    Anyone who needs help over a longer period of time for day-to-day life activities such as getting up, dressing, going to the toilet, eating, personal hygiene, etc. is entitled to a helplessness allowance based on whether the incapacity is slight, moderate or severe, but regardless of age, income and assets.

    Anyone whose income (incl. pension) and assets mean that they are living below subsistence level is entitled to supplementary benefits (EL/PC). Supplementary benefits are part of the Swiss social security system and are not welfare or social assistance benefits. EL/PC can be applied for from the cantonal AHV/AVS compensation office. Asset and income limits for EL/PC vary from canton to canton. For example, supplementary benefits can be used to cover the deductible and coinsurance for mandatory basic insurance, domestic help and transport.

    Anyone who has taken out supplemental insurance should verify whether it contributes to care or domestic help costs. Contributions can amount to up to 100 francs per day, but are usually limited to 30 days per year.

    If the above benefits are not sufficient to allow you to live above subsistence level, you can apply for social assistance at the municipality where you live.

    As a carer of a relative in need of care, you can claim care credits from the cantonal AHV/AVS compensation office in the canton of residence of the person requiring care. Only great-grandparents, grandparents, parents, parents-in-law, spouse, siblings, children, stepchildren and grandchildren are considered “relatives”. “In need of care” means that the relative receives a helplessness allowance from the AHV/IV or AVS/AI due to a moderate or severe incapacity. To be eligible for care credits, carers must be easy to reach for the person in need of care. “Easy to reach” means that the carer does not live more than 1 hour's journey or 30 km away from the person in need of care for at least 180 days per calendar year.

Ask a question

If you have not found an answer to your question on this page, you can ask it here.

Questions sur l’aide à domicile et les soins

  • Qu’entend-on par aide et soins à domicile ? Quel en est le fonctionnement ?

    Aide et soins à domicile (ASD) n’est pas un terme protégé ; il désigne les prestations extrahospitalières telles que les soins à domicile ou le soutien et l’aide au quotidien. En Suisse, il existe 577 organismes publics, 289 organismes privés et 1’015 soignants indépendants (OFS, état 2017) reconnus par les caisses maladie. Ils encouragent et soutiennent les personnes de tous âges qui ont besoin d’aide afin de leur permettre de vivre à la maison.

    L’aide et soins à domicile en pédiatrie désigne les soins et la prise en charge, en globalité, d’enfants gravement malades, handicapés ou en fin de vie. Les coûts des prestations remboursées sont couverts par l’assurance de base de l’enfant.

  • Quelle est la différence entre les organismes ASD publics et les organismes ASD privés ?

    En règle générale, les organismes publics ont un mandat de service public envers la commune ou le canton. Ils sont donc tenus d’accepter toutes les interventions, même si celles-ci ne couvrent pas les coûts occasionnés. Les organismes privés n’ayant aucun mandat de service public, ils sont libres de fixer une durée minimale de prestation et de refuser des interventions.

    Qu’ils soient publics ou privés, les organismes ASD ont besoin d’une autorisation d’exploitation cantonale qui leur est délivrée à condition de remplir certains critères relatifs à leur personnel et aux prestations qu’ils proposent. Ils peuvent alors facturer leurs prestations à la caisse maladie.

    comparis.ch signale les organismes publics par la mention « Avec mandat public » et les organismes privés, par « Organisme privé ».

  • La caisse maladie / l’assurance de base rembourse-t-elle les prestations d’aide et de soins à domicile ?

    La caisse maladie ne rembourse les prestations que si elles sont prescrites par un médecin, énumérées dans l’ordonnance sur les prestations de l’assurance des soins (OPAS) et fournies par du personnel qualifié d’organismes ASD reconnus par les caisses maladie.

    On distingue trois catégories de prestations remboursées : a) évaluation des besoins, conseil et coordination (p. ex. avec le médecin et les proches) ; b) examen et traitement médical (p. ex. préparer et administrer les médicaments) et c) soins généraux (p. ex. aider le patient à se doucher / prendre un bain / se laver, se vêtir et se dévêtir, manger et boire, aller aux toilettes, se lever / s’allonger / marcher ou se brosser les dents). Les coûts sont remboursés par l’assurance obligatoire de base, déduction faite de la franchise annuelle et de la quote-part. Vous trouverez davantage d'informations dans le calculateur du coût des soins.

    Les prestations non remboursées sont le soutien et l’aide au quotidien, à savoir faire les courses, préparer les repas, faire le ménage, la lessive, le repassage, etc. Une assurance complémentaire privée peut toutefois en couvrir certaines. Le cas échéant, des prestations complémentaires et/ou des allocations pour impotents peuvent être demandées.

  • Quel est le coût des soins et du soutien à domicile ?

    Les tarifs des prestations de soins sont fixés de manière uniforme par la Confédération, contrairement aux tarifs des prestations de soutien, c’est pourquoi ceux-ci varient. Il est donc utile de comparer les différents prestataires et les prestations qu’ils proposent. En règle générale, ils publient leurs tarifs sur leur site Internet. Le soutien éventuellement apporté par les proches entre aussi en ligne de compte.

  • Dans le cadre de l'ASD, qui paie les soins et le soutien ?

    Les coûts des soins à domicile prescrits par un médecin sont pris en charge par trois parties : la caisse maladie (54,60 CHF, 65,40 CHF ou 79,80 francs par heure), les clients ASD (au maximum 15,95 francs par jour) et les pouvoirs publics (canton ou commune). Le montant à la charge des clients ASD dépend du canton, de la franchise choisie et de l’âge (personne mineure ou majeure). Pour chiffrer cette somme, se reporter au calculateur du coût des soins.

    En principe, les clients doivent supporter eux-mêmes les coûts de soutien et d’aide ménagère mais ils peuvent éventuellement bénéficier d’une assurance complémentaire, d’une allocation pour impotent et/ou de prestations complémentaires.

  • Ai-je droit à un soutien financier ?

    Si vous avez besoin d’aide pour accomplir les actes ordinaires de la vie (vous lever, vous vêtir, faire votre toilette, manger, etc.) durant une longue période, vous avez droit à une allocation pour impotence faible, moyenne ou grave, indépendamment de votre âge, de votre revenu et de votre fortune.

    Lorsque vos propres revenus (y c. la rente) ou votre propre fortune ne permettent pas de couvrir vos besoins vitaux, vous avez droit à des prestations complémentaires (PC). Celles-ci font partie intégrante du système suisse d’assurances sociales. Il ne s’agit ni d’une assistance ni d’une aide sociale. Une demande de PC peut être déposée auprès de la caisse cantonale de compensation AVS. Les limites de revenu et de fortune applicables aux PC diffèrent d’un canton à l’autre. Par exemple, les prestations complémentaires peuvent couvrir la franchise et la quote-part de l’assurance obligatoire de base, l’aide ménagère et le transport.

    Si vous avez conclu une assurance complémentaire, vous devriez vérifier si elle participe aux coûts des soins ou de l’aide ménagère. La participation peut s’élever jusqu’à 100 francs par jour et elle est souvent limitée à 30 jours par an.

    Si les prestations susmentionnées ne suffisent pas à assurer votre subsistance, vous pouvez demander une aide sociale auprès de votre commune de résidence.

    Si vous vous occupez d’un parent nécessitant des soins, vous pouvez faire valoir des bonifications pour tâches d’assistance auprès de la caisse cantonale de compensation AVS du canton de résidence de la personne dépendante. Le terme « parent » désigne exclusivement les arrière-grands-parents, les grands-parents, les parents, les beaux-parents, le conjoint, les frères et sœurs, les enfants, les enfants du conjoint et les petits-enfants. Le terme « dépendant » des soins signifie que le parent perçoit une allocation pour impotence moyenne ou grave de l’AVS/AI. Pour faire valoir des bonifications pour tâches d’assistance, vous devez être facilement joignable par le parent. Le terme « facilement joignable » signifie que, pendant au moins 180 jours par année civile, l’accompagnant habite à moins de 30 km de la personne dépendante ou n’a pas besoin de plus d’une heure pour se rendre chez elle.

Posez votre question

Si vous ne trouvez pas la réponse à votre question sur cette page, posez-la ici.