Living together

Comparis survey: What bothers the Swiss most about their neighbours

STUDY
|
Children and noise are not popular with the neighbours. Source: iStock

Whether the issue is due to noise, unfriendliness or cigarette smoke, around 64 per cent of Swiss people are annoyed by their neighbours. For some, the situation is severe enough to end in court, or with one party moving house. Here is an overview of the representative survey on the topic of disputes between neighbours.

For many Swiss people, their own home is not quite an oasis of calm: almost a third are annoyed by noise caused by their neighbours (28 per cent). The chief sources of irritation include talking, children, footsteps, arguments, loud music and parties. Problems with unfriendly neighbours (16 per cent), cigarette smoke (14 per cent), and conflict about shared laundry facilities (13 per cent) were also cited. Surprisingly, it is mainly young people who complain about their neighbours.

One-third of people have argued with their neighbours

32 per cent of survey respondents had previously had an argument or disagreement with a neighbour. Of these, 12 per cent stated that they argue several times a year – while 67 per cent only rarely had disputes with their neighbours. At 36 per cent, significantly more young people are involved in these disputes than those aged over 55 (28 per cent).

Many do nothing about their annoying neighbours

If residents in Switzerland feel disturbed by their neighbours, 31 per cent ask politely for the disruption to cease. Another 7 per cent express their annoyance by knocking on the wall or ceiling. Should a disturbance occur repeatedly, 14 per cent would be prepared to complain to the landlord. But a not-insignificant 27 per cent do absolutely nothing – they just feel annoyed.

Tip: Try having a quiet word with your neighbour before getting your landlord or the police involved.

The last resort: moving away

Some see a move away as their last resort to resolve a conflict. One in six people who has had a dispute with a neighbour has moved house for this reason. “If a dispute between neighbours escalates and someone no longer feels comfortable at home, there are often only two options left: a move, or going to court,” says Nina Spielhofer, media spokesperson for property at comparis.ch. In fact, 15 per cent of respondents stated that a neighbourhood dispute had at some point escalated to a concrete legal dispute.

Method

This representative survey was carried out by market research institute innofact on behalf of comparis.ch in September 2017, and involved 1,029 participants from across Switzerland.

Vivre ensemble

Enquête Comparis : les nuisances de voisinage qui dérangent le plus les Suisses

ÉTUDES
|
Les enfants et le bruit n’enchantent pas le voisinage. Photo : iStock

Que ce soit le bruit, la froideur / l’antipathie ou la fumée de cigarette : environ 64 % de Suisses ont des voisins qui les énervent. Dans certains cas, l'affaire va jusque devant les tribunaux ou l’une des parties déménage. Les principaux résultats de l'enquête représentative sur les nuisances de voisinage.

Pour beaucoup de Suisses, son chez soi n’est pas vraiment un havre de paix : près du tiers des personnes (28 %) est dérangé par des nuisances sonores provenant de ses voisins. Principaux chefs d'accusation : trop de bruit de conversations, d’enfants, de pas, de disputes ; de la musique à volume trop élevé et des fêtes bruyantes. Parmi les autres sources de conflit, on cite la froideur ou l'antipathie des voisins (16 %), la fumée de cigarette (14 %) et les disputes concernant la buanderie commune (13 %). Fait surprenant, ce sont avant tout les jeunes qui trouvent quelque chose à redire du voisinage.

Les points de discorde des Suisses avec leurs voisins :

Une personne sur trois s’est déjà disputée avec ses voisins

Les sondés sont 32 % à indiquer avoir déjà eu une dispute ou des différends avec un voisin ou une voisine. Bien 12 % d’entre eux déclarent par ailleurs se disputer plusieurs fois par an, contre 67 % qui n’ont que peu d'accrocs avec les voisins. Entre les parties concernées, on compte plus de sujets jeunes que de personnes de plus de 55 ans, soit 36 % contre 28 % respectivement.

Beaucoup de personnes n’entreprennent rien contre les voisins qui dérangent

Quand les Suisses sont gênés par leurs voisins, 31 % d’entre eux demandent gentiment s’il serait possible de cesser les nuisances. Ils sont 7 % de personnes à se manifester en tapant contre le mur ou le plafond. Si la nuisance est récurrente, 14 % des Suisses sont prêts à se plaindre auprès de leur bailleur. Mais 27 % des personnes ne font rien du tout : ils s’énervent, simplement.

Conseil : cherchez le dialogue avec votre voisin ou votre voisine avant d’appeler le bailleur ou la police.

La dernière issue : déménager

Pour certains, la dernière issue à ce conflit est de faire ses valises : une personne sur six ayant eu des différends avec le voisin a déménagé pour cette raison par le passé. « Quand la querelle de voisinage prend de l’ampleur et que l’on ne se sent plus à l'aise chez soi, il ne reste plus que deux options : déménager ou porter l'affaire devant les tribunaux », commente Nina Spielhofer, porte-parole Immobilier et Maison chez comparis.ch. En effet, 15 % des répondants ont déclaré avoir déjà vécu une querelle de voisinage qui s'est terminée au tribunal.

Méthode

Enquête représentative réalisée par l'institut de sondage et d'études de marché innofact pour le compte de comparis.ch auprès d'un échantillon de 1029 personnes issues de toutes les régions de Suisse. Le sondage a eu lieu en septembre 2017.