Health insurers

Health insurance comparisons – how does Comparis work?

COMPARIS
| By Felix Schneuwly |
Source: iStock.com / hapecharge

Comparis is an independent online comparison service. It finances its health insurance comparison service by charging health insurers for quote requests submitted by users, as well as by selling advertising space, such as banners, on its website. No health insurer can buy itself a good position in the results table.

Consumers often wonder how Comparis finances its health insurance comparison service and whether insurers can buy themselves a prominent position in the results list. Depending on the area, the quote request service provided by Comparis costs at least 30 francs per request and is the same for all providers in the same industry sector.

How much does Comparis earn from its health insurance comparison service?

In 2018, Comparis generated sales revenues of some 7.6 million francs from its health insurance comparison service. The quote request system that Comparis offers is considerably cheaper for health insurers than telephone marketing and direct client consultations. Insurers can expect to pay a call centre around 100 francs for an appointment with a prospective client. The actual consultation with an agent, broker or member of the insurer's sales team costs another 100 francs, and that’s without a full comparison of all premiums.

How are the health insurance comparison results displayed?

Depending on how users sort the results page, either the insurer offering the lowest premium or the one with the best customer satisfaction rating appears at the top. Users can also choose between a standard and a full view:

  • The full view displays all the health insurers along with all the premiums that have been approved by the Federal Office of Public Health.
  • The standard view displays the health insurer with the lowest premium as well as other premiums from insurers who accept online quote requests from Comparis.

By providing these two options, Comparis meets different user needs: the full view is for those who want all the details, while the standard view is for users who like the convenience of being able to switch insurance at the touch of a button. Compare basic health insurance here.

Does the Comparis service push up costs in the system?

The quote request system offered by Comparis is efficient and fully automated, which reduces administration costs for the health insurer. The health insurance companies pay Comparis for the use of this quote request system. Being compared in this way puts them under greater pressure to offer cheaper premiums and maintain a high level of customer satisfaction, which Comparis also compares – not just premiums. It also forces insurers to focus on increasing the efficiency of their administrative activities, for example, without compromising on quality of service.

How does Comparis differ from a broker?

Comparis provides a passive source of information for people who are interested in it, and does not make anyone switch health insurance unless they actively wish to do so. Comparis does not do home consultations. Unlike a broker, Comparis is not restricted to particular insurance companies. Instead, it endeavours to provide a complete overview of the market. The users themselves then decide which deal best fits their requirements. Comparis also provides a neutrality guarantee.

How legitimate are other online premium comparison tools?

Websites promising fast health insurance comparisons crop up on a regular basis. These websites often have only one aim: to gather the address details of people seeking to switch insurance and then pass them on to brokers. So before divulging any personal details, you are advised to check the legal notice on the website.

Can a health insurer reject me?

Insurers are obliged to accept all applications for mandatory basic health insurance. No insurer can reject you, even if you frequently switch provider. They must accept you irrespective of your age or state of health. If you wish to switch to an insurer that does not accept online quote requests via Comparis, you can notify the respective insurers of your intentions in writing by registered post – one letter cancelling with your current insurer and one applying to the new insurer. The insurers must receive their letter by 30 November at the latest. All insurers must offer the same cover for mandatory basic health insurance. You can find out more here: Basic insurance – benefits under mandatory health insurance (KVG/LAMal).

Unlike with basic insurance, health insurers are not obliged to accept applications for supplemental insurance.

How can I combine basic and supplemental insurance in one comparison?

It is possible to take out basic and supplemental insurance with different providers. Comparis recommends choosing an affordable provider for basic insurance at least, because all insurers offer the same medical cover. You should therefore choose your basic insurance provider based primarily on the premium and level of customer satisfaction.

Since supplemental insurance policies vary considerably with respect to the medical services covered by individual products, it is especially important to check the details. At comparis.ch, you can carry out a combined comparison of basic and supplemental health insurance here.

Does frequently switching health insurance lead to increased healthcare costs?

No. Since the process of switching insurance at comparis.ch is automated and electronic, insurance companies save on advertising, marketing, personnel, paper and postage costs. In any case, administration costs only constitute some 5% of the premium volume. Factors that do drive up costs are increased consumption of medical services, the rising cost of bureaucracy owing to misguided government incentives with respect to financing, and medical progress itself.

Which is better – competitive or national health insurance?

The broader question of whether competitive health insurance is ultimately cheaper than a monopoly has been posed many times. Swiss voters have answered yes to this question three times already, thereby rejecting national health insurance. A fourth attempt failed to reach the 100,000 signatures required for a popular initiative to be put to the vote. However, as the question keeps being asked and will no doubt be voted on a fourth time at some juncture, Comparis favours conducting a national health insurance test in a large canton first. This would then be compared with the competitive health insurance market in the rest of Switzerland. This shows that Comparis is clearly placing the interests of consumers before its own business interests.

Caisses maladie

Comparatif d’assurance maladie : comment fonctionne Comparis ?

COMPARIS
| Par Felix Schneuwly |
Photo : iStock.com / hapecharge

Comparis est un comparateur en ligne indépendant. Comparis finance son comparatif d’assurance maladie en facturant les demandes d’offres des assurés aux caisses maladie, ainsi qu’en vendant des espaces publicitaires – par exemple des bannières – sur son site Web. Aucune compagnie ne peut s’acheter une position favorable dans le tableau de résultat du comparatif d’assurance maladie.

Les consommateurs demandent souvent comment Comparis finance son comparatif d’assurance maladie et si les compagnies d’assurance peuvent acheter un bon classement. Le tarif du service Comparis d'offre de prix est disponible dès 30 CHF/demande pour les compagnies d'assurance. S'il varie selon les rubriques, il est identique pour tous les prestataires d’un secteur. Les utilisateurs Comparis bénéficient gratuitement des comparatifs. Aucune compagnie ne peut s’acheter une position favorable dans le classement.

Combien gagne Comparis avec le comparatif d’assurance maladie ?

En 2018, Comparis a réalisé un chiffre d’affaires d’environ 7,6 millions de francs via le comparatif d’assurance maladie. La demande d’offres via le comparateur en ligne Comparis est nettement moins chère que le démarchage téléphonique et le conseil client directement effectué par les caisses maladie. En effet, les caisses maladie paient environ 100 CHF par rendez-vous de conseil aux call center. Le conseil fourni par un courtier, un intermédiaire ou un collaborateur commercial de l’assureur maladie coûte encore 100 CHF de plus à la caisse maladie, et ce en l’absence d’un comparatif de primes complet.

Comment sont affichés les résultats dans le comparatif d’assurance maladie ?

Selon le tri des résultats que choisissent les utilisateurs, c’est la caisse maladie ayant la prime la plus basse ou celle ayant la plus grande satisfaction client qui est affichée en premier. Les utilisateurs peuvent également choisir entre la vue standard et la vue détaillée :

  • La vue détaillée affiche toutes les caisses d’assurance maladie et toutes les primes approuvées par l’Office fédéral de la santé publique.
  • La vue standard affiche la caisse maladie avec la prime la plus basse ainsi que les autres primes des compagnies traitant les offres en ligne via Comparis.

Par ces deux types d’affichages, Comparis répond aux différents besoins des utilisateurs : la vue détaillée s’adresse à ceux qui souhaitent avoir toutes les précisions. La vue standard est destinée aux utilisateurs qui souhaitent changer d’assureur le plus simplement possible, en cliquant sur un bouton. Comparer directement les caisses d'assurance maladie de base

La prestation de Comparis fait-elle augmenter les coûts dans le système ?

Le processus de gestion des offres proposé par Comparis est efficace et entièrement automatisé. Cela réduit les frais administratifs pour les caisses maladie. Comparis est rémunéré par ces dernières pour l’utilisation de ce processus de gestion des offres. La comparabilité des offres soumet les caisses maladie à davantage de pression, ce qui les pousse à proposer des primes aussi basses que possible et à assurer une satisfaction client élevée – que Comparis compare également, outre les simples primes. Cela les pousse par exemple à organiser leurs services administratifs de manière particulièrement efficace sans pour autant abaisser la qualité du service fourni.

Qu’est-ce qui distingue Comparis des courtiers ?

Comparis est un service d’information s’adressant de manière passive aux personnes intéressées. Comparis n’incite personne à changer d’assureur qui n’en aurait pas activement la volonté. Comparis n’effectue pas de visites à domicile. Contrairement aux courtiers, Comparis ne se limite pas à certaines compagnies d’assurance, mais a pour ambition de fournir un aperçu complet du marché. À l’assuré de choisir l’offre qui lui convient. Comparis apporte également une garantie de l'impartialté Comparis.

Quel est le sérieux des autres calculateurs de primes sur Internet ?

Des sites Web qui promettent une comparaison rapide des caisses maladie font régulièrement leur apparition sur Internet. Souvent, ces services ont avant tout un objectif : collecter les adresses des personnes souhaitant changer d’assurance, afin de transmettre ensuite ces données à des courtiers. Raison pour laquelle il est toujours conseillé de consulter l’impressum de l’offre correspondante avant de fournir vos données.

Une caisse maladie peut-elle refuser ma demande ?

L’assurance maladie de base obligatoire est soumise à l’obligation d’affiliation, personne ne peut refuser votre dossier. Les caisses maladie ne peuvent donc rejeter aucune demande d’affiliation, même si la personne en question change souvent de compagnie. De même, toute caisse d’assurance maladie doit vous accepter quel que soit votre âge ou votre état de santé. Si vous souhaitez passer à un assureur maladie qui ne traite pas les demandes d’offre en ligne via Comparis, vous pouvez résilier votre ancienne caisse maladie par lettre recommandée et vous affilier à la compagnie de votre choix au moyen d’une deuxième lettre recommandée. Ces lettres doivent toutes deux parvenir à l’assureur correspondant au plus tard le 30 novembre. Dans l’assurance de base, les caisses maladie ont l’obligation de proposer les mêmes prestations. Pour en savoir plus, cliquez ici : Assurance de base – prestations de l’assurance maladie obligatoire (LAMal).

Contrairement à l’assurance de base, l’assurance complémentaire n’est pas soumise à l’obligation d’affiliation.

Est-il possible de comparer à la fois l’assurance de base et l’assurance complémentaire ?

Vous pouvez souscrire votre assurance de base auprès d’une autre caisse maladie que celle de votre ou de vos assurances complémentaires. Comparis recommande de choisir une caisse économique, au moins pour votre assurance de base – puisque le remboursement des soins est identique quelle que soit la caisse. Dans l’assurance de base, les critères déterminants pour le choix de la caisse maladie sont donc avant tout la prime et la satisfaction client.

Dans l’assurance complémentaire, en revanche, il existe des différences importantes dans les prestations médicales assurées sous les différents produits, raison pour laquelle il est particulièrement important d’examiner les offres en détail. Sur comparis.ch, vous pouvez comparer ici les assurances de base et complémentaires de manière combinée.

Les changements fréquents de caisses maladie font-ils augmenter les coûts de santé ?

Non. Le changement d’assureur via comparis.ch étant entièrement numérique et automatisé, les compagnies d’assurance font l’économie de frais de publicité, de marketing, de personnel, de papier et de port. En outre, les frais administratifs ne représentent qu’environ 5 % du volume des primes. À contrario, les facteurs faisant grimper les coûts sont l’augmentation du volume de prestations consommées, des frais administratifs accrus en raison d’incitations mises en place par les pouvoirs publics en matière de financement et ayant un impact négatif, de même que le progrès de la médecine en soi.

Concurrence entre caisses maladie ou caisse maladie unique ?

La question de savoir si, en somme, la concurrence entre assureurs maladie revient moins cher qu'un monopole, se pose de manière récurrente. Les électeurs ont d'ores et déjà répondu Oui à cette question à trois reprises et ont rejeté une caisse unique d’assurance maladie. Une quatrième tentative a échoué du fait des 100 000 signatures requises pour une initiative populaire. Étant donné que cette question ne cesse d’être soulevée, Comparis plaide pour un test avec une caisse unique dans un canton de grande taille afin de pouvoir établir une comparaison avec la concurrence existante dans le reste de la Suisse, avant qu'une quatrième votation n'ait lieu à ce sujet. Comparis fait ainsi clairement passer les intérêts des consommateurs avant ses propres intérêts commerciaux.