Changing car insurance

You can change your current insurance in the following cases:

  1. when the contract expires 
  2. change of vehicle 
  3. when premiums change (premium increase, also sometimes in case of reduction) 
  4. change of owners 
  5. in the event of a claim

1. Expiry of contract: 
The contract is valid for the period of time stated in your policy. If the contract is not cancelled by that particular date, it is usually renewed automatically for another year. Detailed information is listed in the general insurance conditions. You can check the various insurance providers' cancellation periods here.

2. Change of vehicle: 
It is possible to change insurers without loss of premium when you change your vehicle. The premium will be refunded proportionally.

3. Change in premiums: 
The insurance provider may change the premiums or general insurance conditions for the following insurance year. The policyholder must be informed of these changes at least 25 days prior to the start of the new insurance year.

If the policyholder has any objections, he may cancel his insurance contract for the end of the insurance year. The cancellation letter must reach the insurance company by the last day of the insurance year. With some insurers this only applies in case of a premium increase, with others, it may also apply to premium reduction (cf. general insurance conditions).

4. Change of owners: 
With a change of ownership, rights and obligations from the existing liability insurance transfer to the new owner. The new owner may cancel this policy within 14 days after taking over ownership.

Liability insurance lapses as soon as the new vehicle licence is issued based on the proof of insurance from another company. Comprehensive (or casco) insurance ends on the date of transfer of ownership. The premium will be refunded proportionally.

5. Claim:
After each incident resulting in a claim covered by the insurance, both parties may back out of the contract.

a) Cancellation by the policyholder: possible up to 14 days after the insurer confirms that he will provide coverage for the damage. Coverage lapses as soon as the insurer receives the notice of cancellation. The premium already paid will be refunded proportionally, unless the damage occurs during the first year of insurance, or in case of a total loss. 
b) Cancellation by the insurance company: possible until disbursement. Coverage lapses 14 days after the policyholder receives the notice of cancellation. The premium will be refunded proportionally.

 

 

This might interest you

Login

Cancel

You are a new user: Register

Forgotten password?

Changer d'assurance automobile


Vous pouvez changer d'assurance dans les cas suivants :
  1. Expiration du contrat 
  2. Changement de véhicule 
  3. Modification des primes (lors d'une augmentation voire, dans certains cas, lors d'une réduction) 
  4. Changement de détenteur du véhicule 
  5. Sinistre
1. Expiration du contrat 
La couverture est valable pour la durée prévue par la police d'assurance. Si le contrat n'est pas résilié à son arrivée à échéance, il est en principe reconduit pour un an. Vous trouverez davantage d'informations à ce sujet dans les conditions générales d'assurance (CGA). Cliquez ici pour visualiser les délais de résiliation des différents assureurs.

2. Changement de véhicule 
Vous pouvez changer d'assurance lorsque vous changez de véhicule, sans perdre de primes. En effet, la prime est alors remboursée au prorata.

3. Modification des primes 
La compagnie peut augmenter ses primes ou rectifier ses conditions générales d'assurance (CGA) à partir de la deuxième année d'assurance. Elle est tenue d'aviser l'assuré de ces changements au moins 25 jours avant la fin de la période assurée. 

Si l'assuré n’accepte pas ces nouvelles conditions, il est en droit de résilier son contrat à la fin de l'année d'assurance. L'avis de résiliation doit parvenir à l'assureur au plus tard le dernier jour de la période assurée. Certaines compagnies n'acceptent un tel mode de résiliation que lorsque les primes augmentent, d'autres également lorsqu'elles baissent (se reporter aux CGA). 

4. Changement de détenteur
Les droits et les obligations découlant de l'assurance responsabilité civile passent au nouveau propriétaire. Ce dernier est habilité à résilier le contrat d’assurance dans les 14 jours qui suivent le transfert. 

La couverture responsabilité civile expire automatiquement si le permis de circulation est établi sur la base d'une attestation d'assurance émanant d'une autre compagnie. L'assurance casco prend fin à la date du changement de détenteur. La prime est alors remboursée au prorata.

5. Sinistre 
Les deux parties peuvent résilier le contrat après tout sinistre entraînant un remboursement de la part de l’assurance. 
a) Résiliation par l'assuré : au maximum 14 jours après avoir été informé que l'assurance paierait les dégâts. La couverture s’éteint à réception de l’avis de résiliation par l’assureur. Les primes déjà payées sont alors remboursées au prorata, sauf si le sinistre survient au cours de la première année d'assurance ou s'il s'agit d'un dommage intégral. 
b) Résiliation par la compagnie d'assurance : au plus tard au moment de l'indemnisation du sinistre ; la garantie s’éteint 14 jours après réception de l’avis de résiliation par l'assuré. La prime est alors remboursée au prorata.

 

 

Retour